Intel core 2 duo e6850 bus speed to rated fsb? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2008, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 65
Default Intel core 2 duo e6850 bus speed to rated fsb?

I had a quick question about my pcu. First off let me say i have a intel core 2 duo e6850 with a nforce 680i sli ready mother board, also running 2 gig's of memory. I fired up cpu-z just to check on thing's and i had a question. On the first CPU tab its saying that my Bus speed is 333.4mhz yet it says the Rated fsb is 1333.4mhz. does this mean my computer is only running at 1/4 compacity? Sorry if i sound stupid but im just trying to understand if my pcu is running at its max or not. Thanks for any help you can provide.
__________________

__________________
My Specs:
ProBaller25 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Intel core 2 duo e6850 bus speed to rated fsb?

no it's "quad-pumped"

333X4=1333 the speed of the processor is the FSBXmultiplier=speed

so it's 333X9=3000mhz (3.0ghz)
__________________

wafflehammer is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Intel core 2 duo e6850 bus speed to rated fsb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
no it's "quad-pumped"

333X4=1333 the speed of the processor is the FSBXmultiplier=speed

so it's 333X9=3000mhz (3.0ghz)
He's right..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-21-2008, 06:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 65
Default Re: Intel core 2 duo e6850 bus speed to rated fsb?

Ok sweet so everything is running how it should then. Thanks for that info appreciate it greatly.
__________________
My Specs:
ProBaller25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UnBiased Intel Core 2 Duo Overclocking with Overclocking Test Systems veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 7 11-21-2007 07:24 PM
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 09:11 PM
Intel Core 2 Duo: E6400 Only running at 1.6GHz?? shigur Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-03-2007 01:15 AM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.