Intel or Amd? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2008, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 54
Default Intel or Amd?

which is better for gaming solely, ive heard ALOT ALOT of different things lol, so i want to finally get this issue cleared up in my head

my dads friend a computer expert told me that AMD was better for gaming however most places ive looked on the internet seem to tend to like intel duo processors and such better for gaming

so with the purchase of a new computer pending...im wondering whether to go with AMD or Intel....feedback?
__________________

computerneeder is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Intel or Amd?

Intel is better for gaming now.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 54
Default Re: Intel or Amd?

yea thats what i hear

what you recommend intel core duo or the quad one?
computerneeder is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Intel or Amd?

It depends on how much you want to spend.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Intel or Amd?

If you were asking before the core2 chips came out, we would be saying AMD. If you can afford it, go for a quad core, especially if you plan on keeping it for a while.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 54
Default Re: Intel or Amd?

how much is the price difference between a core 2 and a quad?

how much of a difference does it truely make in gaming?

can you see/tell the difference in speed or is it behind the scenes?
computerneeder is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Intel or Amd?

It all depends on what chips are you are looking at. You can get an e2140 for around 65 bucks, but its only 1.6ghz. A q6600 which is the cheapest quad core on the market, can easily overclock past 3ghz, is around 260ish. Most games these days only take advantage of 2 cores, but if you do alot of multitasking, like using ventrilo, instant messaging, and other stuff while gaming, a quad core is great. Also more games are starting to utilize quad cores more these days, so the longer you plan on keeping it, the more it will benefit you to buy a quad.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 05:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 54
Default

well are there any really good games coming out that are demanding enough not to run if you have like a 2.2-2.6 ghz processing speed

i think whatever computer i end up getting will have 2-3 ghz processor speed so im wondering now if any games in the next few years will be more demanding then those specifications i mean as far as i know any computer with 2-3 ghz of processing speed should be able to run every game out nowadays right? can 2-3 ghz run crysis?

whyd the computer expert guy say amd was better lol?
computerneeder is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 06:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Intel or Amd?

Calling oneself an export does not make it true. And he probably has a higher profit margin on AMD equipment that he wants to sell you
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 07:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Intel or Amd?

Maybe half a year ago, buying a core 2 would have been the smarter choice, but nowdays quads rule the market. Like veedubfreak says, even a q6600 can overclock VERY easily, and if you're gonna shell out for a good cpu, the quad is worth the little bit extra you'll have to pay.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD > Intel? OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-12-2008 05:17 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Intel delay launch of 3 CPU's because AMD poses no threat Oreo Off Topic Discussion 8 12-20-2007 04:57 PM
Intel Beats AMD to Lead-Free Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-24-2007 03:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.