Intel 6 core multithreading problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2014, 12:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Default Intel 6 core multithreading problem

I just recently noticed that my 6 core cpu shows only 6 threads in windows 7,
previously upon assembly and testing it was showing 12 active threads,
I checked in bios - multithreading enabled, updated bios and nothing helped,
Asus p9x79 mobo , 6 core intel, 32gig ram, ssd and a decent video card..,
this system still flys but I want the 12 cores going especially when rendering in 3ds...

anyone ?

any help would be appreciated.

thanks !
__________________

morph1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Intel 6 core multithreading problem

Make sure HyperThreading is still enabled in BIOS.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 11:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Intel 6 core multithreading problem

What program are you using?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 12:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Intel 6 core multithreading problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
What program are you using?
I'm assuming 3DS in his OP means 3DS Max.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Intel 6 core multithreading problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I'm assuming 3DS in his OP means 3DS Max.
I meant, what program is he using to check for threads. CPU-Z would say for sure.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2014, 02:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Intel 6 core multithreading problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
I meant, what program is he using to check for threads. CPU-Z would say for sure.
Oh

I'd assume just Task Manager since it shows each physical core, and when HT is enabled each virtual core.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - Intel Core 2 QX6800 DArcher132 System Upgrades 7 08-15-2010 03:01 AM
Intel Core 2 Duo vs Intel Core 2 Extreme SparksN8 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-15-2009 09:48 AM
Intel Quad core vs Intel core i7 Dakhathsk System Upgrades 11 12-24-2008 12:59 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
Multithreading, Duel-core, 64-bit, and FSB zr2d2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 08-18-2005 11:53 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.