Intalling graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2006, 05:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default Intalling graphics card

I am trying to install MVGA-NVG11AL i have put it etc but have no idea how to install it.
__________________

bojker26 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 09:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Please read your question and change it to make sense.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 10:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 512
Default

would be nice to know what you're going on about. Post again and we'll try to help you.
__________________

Life is too important to be taken seriously - Oscar Wilde
Metr01973 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 11:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

sorry have read again and it doesn't make any sense oes it!
whoops!
Anyway i bought a graphics card of ebay for aroud $10 but it didn't come with a driver. so i have spent ages trying to install it buy downloading drivers and using add hardware in the control pannel section in windows xp. Not sure how to install it. any suggestions? what am i doing wrong?
Its a 64MB MVGA-NVG11AL nVIDIA GeForce2 MX with TVout,AGP.
Thanks for your help
bojker26 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 12:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Go to the nVidia website and download the correct drivers. DO NOT INSTALL YET. Remove the current drivers, go to control panel add/remove and you should see them. Shut down computer, remover old video card if one if not currently using intergrated graphics. Install new card in AGP slot. Turn on computer, Win will install a generic driver, so don't worry. Then go to device manager, click on the video card that you just installed, then click on update driver. At this time install the drivers from the location that you downloaded to. Depending on which Win you are using, sometimes when the computer boots up, it will say found new hardware and ask to install drivers at that time. If that is the case, at that time install the new drivers.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

still having problems intalled it but says theres a problem (code 10)!
any help is greatly appreciated
bojker26 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 06:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 183
Default

Was this card new or used for $10?
wasisnt is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 04:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

used
is it broken?
bojker26 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 08:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

is windows detecting the card ??
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.