Installing two video cards in Vista - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2008, 07:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default Installing two video cards in Vista

I am currently running a NVidia GeForce 8600 GT video card which is being used for my dual monitor setup. I recently came accross a TV with an S Video input and would like to add that to my set up. I have a GeForce FX5200 that I would like to use to run atleast one of my monitors/TV but can't seem to get them to work together. When I install the FX 5200 Vista uses that as the default card and gives an error message about not being able to load drivers for the 8600. I've tried to several different combinations of installs and driver updates but no luck. If it helps the 8600 is PCI express and 5200 is PCI.

ANY IDEAS!?!?!
__________________

tbaggett is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 10:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Installing two video cards in Vista

Hello,

From all of my use of Vista i have never seen it be able to run 2 different video cards. I know XP was able to but Vista can not run 2 different cards.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-30-2008, 11:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Installing two video cards in Vista

FINALLY FIGURED IT OUT!!!

for anyone out there trying to do the same thing. If you have two NVidia graphic cards there is a website laptopvideo2go.com that has drivers that work for pretty much all nvidia cards. So if you go in and install one of those it will work for both cards and Vista will allow them both to run!

Hope this helps someone
tbaggett is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 01:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Installing two video cards in Vista

Helo tbagget,

Thanks for the info. I will check out their site now and have a look see. Thanks for giving us the solution so now we know for the next person who asks.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One or 2 video cards? NightSurge New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-02-2008 10:19 AM
Clean Installing Vista on my XP computer.. Kruzz Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-06-2008 01:18 PM
Installing Vista with 4GB installed. Neodr31 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-19-2007 02:30 PM
Need help in choosing Video Cards Under $130 r3n3r4d3 System Upgrades 31 10-22-2007 03:54 PM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.