Installing a game on 2 DVDs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2009, 03:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Installing a game on 2 DVDs?

You may want to move this topic, I'm not sure where exactly I should put this but basically what I want to do is simple, yet difficult (Due to lack of tutorials on Google)

What I want to do is download a game (I do own this game and I am only downloading it as a backup in case the original disc gets scratched, or breaks) and put it on 2 DVDs (The game is about 7 gb, and each DVD is 4.7 GB big) Can I compress the ISO image, or how would I go about putting it on 2 DVDs?

I have burned games before (THAT I OWN) But they all fit onto one DVD.


Thanks, TekBubs.
__________________

TekBubs is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 03:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Installing a game on 2 DVDs?

You can create a split ISO image, or buy a DVD-DL to burn it onto.

Keep in mind the former option would require you to copy the files onto the comp and then combine the ISO back together should you want to install the game.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 04:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Installing a game on 2 DVDs?

Hmm? If I were to "split" the image and put it on 2 DVDs cant I just put CD 1 into the CD drive, install whatevers on that part and then wait for a little message that says "Please insert disc 2"?

And as a high school student with no job atm, dual layers are a no go.
TekBubs is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: Installing a game on 2 DVDs?

I don't think so, it would need to be designed to work like that.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 06:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Installing a game on 2 DVDs?

What if I were to convert it to a .daa, would I be able to burn it and pop it into my CD Drive and load up the installer?

That would be great D:
TekBubs is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Installing a game on 2 DVDs?

I know there's guides on the internet somewhere on how to split discs into 2 or more. Just do a google search for: your game dvd9 to dvd5

I will see if I can find the forum I had used to do it before.

Edit:
PC Games - CD/DVD Conversions - FileForums

There you go; they even have an index of what games they have guides for.

Note: they DO NOT support game piracy; just pointing that out.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 08:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Installing a game on 2 DVDs?

Thanks carnage, and Yamikotai, but I REALLY don't get what the **** they're talking about here: Call of Duty(R) 4 - Modern Warfare (DVD9 to 2x DVD5) - FileForums
TekBubs is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 08:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Installing a game on 2 DVDs?

You have to extract the files you have in the ISO, out of it. Put them in a temp folder, and then Create 2 folders, one folder with the first label they give, and the second folder with the 2nd label they give. Then take the following files:

Quote:
DVD1 VOLUME LABEL:COD4_MW_DVD_1

0x0409.ini
CoD4MW.msi (Replace the original CoD4MW.msi with this one
FirewallInstallHelper.dll
ISSetup.dll
PB.cab
Setup.ini
WindowsInstaller-KB893803-x86.exe
autorun.inf
instmsia.exe
instmsiw.exe
pbsvc.exe
setup.exe
splash.bmp
version.inf

DirectX\*.*
Docs\*.*
Extras\*.*
Setup\Data\cod4.ico
Setup\Data\Mods\ModWarfare\*.*
Setup\Data\main\iw_00.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_01.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_02.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_03.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_04.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_05.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_06.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_07.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_08.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_09.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_10.iwd
Setup\Data\main\iw_11.iwd
Setup\Data\main\localized_english_iw00.iwd
Setup\Data\main\localized_english_iw01.iwd
Setup\Data\zone\english\village_defend.ff
Setup\rsrc\*.*
And put them in the disc1 folder. Don't forget to replace the original MSI file they show with the one they have available for download. Then take the other files they show:

Quote:
autorun.inf
Setup\Data\binkw32.dll
Setup\Data\cod.bmp
Setup\Data\cod4.ico
Setup\Data\codlogo.bmp
Setup\Data\iw3mp.exe
Setup\Data\iw3sp.exe
Setup\Data\localization.txt
Setup\Data\mss32.dll
Setup\Data\main\localized_english_iw02.iwd
Setup\Data\main\localized_english_iw03.iwd
Setup\Data\main\localized_english_iw04.iwd
Setup\Data\main\localized_english_iw05.iwd
Setup\Data\main\localized_english_iw06.iwd
Setup\Data\main\video\*.*
Setup\Data\miles\*.*
Setup\Data\zone\english\*.* (except village_defend.ff)
And put them in disc2's folder.

Then open the autorun.inf that is in the disc2 folder with notepad, and edit it so that it looks like the following:
Quote:
[autorun]
open=0
icon=Setup\data\CoD4.ico
Label the discs in the burning program to whatever they show in that guide as well (i.e. disc 1 is COD4_MW_DVD_1).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-26-2009, 08:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: In my pants.
Posts: 114
Default Re: Installing a game on 2 DVDs?

Ah, TY <3 That helped a bunch

Problem solved.
TekBubs is offline  
Old 08-27-2009, 02:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Installing a game on 2 DVDs?

No problem.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can't delete an online saved game Hereh Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 07-27-2009 11:08 PM
game freezes/crashes after while..HELP!!! jshepherd Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 05-26-2009 03:03 AM
Game pads (not controllers) worth it? Ind3siszive PC Gaming 1 06-05-2008 12:05 AM
Game Tuesday Osiris PC Gaming 1 06-03-2008 01:29 PM
stalker robina_80 PC Gaming 14 09-04-2007 08:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.