installing 1.5gb ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2006, 03:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 76
Default installing 1.5gb ram

hi guys, when i bought my pc it had 512mb of ram, a few weeks ago i brought another 512 so now i have a gig. today i went and brought another 512 but when i slotted it in, my operating system wouldnt start,the pc starts but it says there was an error and asks me either to start in safe mode,last known good configuration or normally, no matter which i choose i just get a blank black screen. my motherboard is an msi amethyst-m and msi website says it supports 4gb,i have 3 sticks of ram, they are all 512mb pc3200 184pin. what do i need to do to get it to work with 1.5gb instead of 1gb?

poetry8 is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 10:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263

First, check your motherboard and make sure the memory configuration is proper. (The motherboard may require you to use a 1Gb + a 512 stick rather than 3 512s in order to work properly with 1.5Gb)

Sometimes, with that big a change, Windows wants to revalidate.

Maybe your video card uses some of the RAM, and maybe it needs some settings changed in the BIOS.

penfold is offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 10:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
kfc469's Avatar
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469

sometimes the mobos that have 4 slots require you to fill them in a certain order. ie. if you only have one stick, you use the slot on the far left or something. check to see if you need to try that.

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 11:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 76

hi thank you for your replys. but the situation has now changed, i just brought another 512 from ebay. so i have four 512 sticks all are non ecc unbuffered pc3200 400MHz 184pin. my motherboard has four slots,each slot supports 1gb. i have put all four sticks in but when i boot up i dont get anything but beeps. why could this be?
poetry8 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 12:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know things...
wicked23's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398

Originally posted by poetry8
i just brought another 512 from ebay.
Memory may be bad. download memtest86 from and run it.
wicked23 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 10:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 76

no the memory works fine i have tested it, it is a crucial 512 pc32000,and i have a second identical stick(made by crucial) and then i have two pny branded 512 3200's. when i install 1 crucial and 1 pny it works with 1gig, when i use 2 crucial it works fine as 1gig, when i use 2 pny it works fine as 1gig but wen i put them all in together i have problems and my pc wont boot. i have just took a closer look and realised that both the crucial sticks are double sided and the pny(which are both identical) are single sided. could this be the problem,i just read something bout dual channel. can i turn it off if this may be the problem? thanks.

poetry8 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.