Installed new mobo/cpu/ram but pc wont start? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2007, 04:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Installed new mobo/cpu/ram but pc wont start?

As title guys, i got an Abit am2 mobo some new DRR2 800mhz ram and a 5600 X2(2.8ghz) processor, got my old mobo out etc and put the new gear in and when i turned the pc on my moniter just stayed black and the light was orange instead of the normal blue when its working, as if it wasnt getting a signal or something.
What is the most likely issue here? im 100% sure that everything was connected right, this was the first time ive installed a processor and new mobo but i know how to fit things so i dont think theres a problem there.
Any ideas?
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 04:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: Installed new mobo/cpu/ram but pc wont start?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_uk View Post
As title guys, i got an Abit am2 mobo some new DRR2 800mhz ram and a 5600 X2(2.8ghz) processor, got my old mobo out etc and put the new gear in and when i turned the pc on my moniter just stayed black and the light was orange instead of the normal blue when its working, as if it wasnt getting a signal or something.
What is the most likely issue here? im 100% sure that everything was connected right, this was the first time ive installed a processor and new mobo but i know how to fit things so i dont think theres a problem there.
Any ideas?
reinstall your cpu and heatsink. Don't forget the thermal paste. U R getting power to the mb right....fans turning, lights on?
__________________

__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: ...
Posts: 474
Default Re: Installed new mobo/cpu/ram but pc wont start?

remove ure graphics card and clean the contancts then re-install. might work or might not
khan008 is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 05:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Installed new mobo/cpu/ram but pc wont start?

nu2duo yep fans/LED's and lights on the mobo itself all come on.
khan008 i dout its that as the mobo is brand new out of the box, plus i just put my old mobo back in and my gpu and it works fine so its nothing to do with the contacts on the actual card either.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 05:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Installed new mobo/cpu/ram but pc wont start?

It said in the instructions something about i might need to reset the jumper thingy if its not powering up properly but ive done that to no avail either
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 04:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: Installed new mobo/cpu/ram but pc wont start?

check your power supply and also make sure the power connector thats suppose to go from your power supply to ur vid card is connected correctly and going directly to your video card.
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 06:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: Installed new mobo/cpu/ram but pc wont start?

Did you plug in the 4 pin CPU power connector? 4pin + the 24 ATX pin power connector to the motherboard. Sounds like it's not posting because the CPU doesn't have any power.

Also how's the PSU? Does it work on the other system perfectly? Have you tested those two plugs with a voltage meter?

What's the exact model of the motherboard?
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 06:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default Re: Installed new mobo/cpu/ram but pc wont start?

what ram? some ram that requires 2.1v to operate doesn't even post at the stock 1.8v, so you have to stick slower ram in, set the volts, shutdown and swap the ram, then boot.
joshd is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 02:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Installed new mobo/cpu/ram but pc wont start?

You can see my specs, ive just added a Abit (kn9s), the am2 5600 X2 processor and the ram is Twinmos pc 6400, id never heard of that before but i know its not the problem because ive tried different ram.
I plugged everything in correctly too
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start menu doesn't "remember" in Vista kfc469 Microsoft Windows and Software 9 06-11-2007 11:57 PM
installed new motherboard and CPU... michaelb15 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-16-2007 07:31 AM
Unable to start windows??? trose Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-09-2007 09:54 PM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 06:25 PM
Installed new graphics card, now pc won't turn on... capa2000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-02-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.