Installed new memory; computer slows. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2007, 01:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default Installed new memory; computer slows.

EDIT: PROBLEM SOLVED!

Hey guys,

I have a motherboard that is capable of Dual-Channel memory. I upgraded my PC last year, and I added 1gb corsair 3200 400Mhz memory. This year I decided I wanted to make use of the DUal-channel feature so I bought an identical memory.

Installed it last night, booted the computer, and noticed my computer had significantly slowed down. Every time I open IE or any window, it flickers and opens slowly (as in it "wipes" it on the screen, suggesting its slow). Everything is slow, doesn't make sense. BIOS says 2GB Dual Channel, windows says 2GB. No problem in detection.

But then, I tried different things, took the old one out let the new one in, and took the new one out and put back the old one in and it STILL is slowing even if I take out the new one! so what's happening guys?

Please help, thanks a lot
__________________

bonoz is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 02:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Are you sure its the exact same Model of memory?

If the memory has different Settings then it would explain the slow Down. If its not the same speed it will downclock the memory to the speed of the slowest stick.
Provide link to First memory Stick
Then a Link to second memory stick
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 02:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default

Both memories are EXXACTLY THE SAME! Both Corsair, both 1gb, both 3200, both 400mhz, both the same model. Same memory.
bonoz is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 02:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

No Links I see.

Ill come back when you have them...
Ste is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 03:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default

Link: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145560
bonoz is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 03:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

And your 100% Sure that your ordered this SAME Memory from a year apart?

Download Motherboard Moniter 5 or Everest and Post Pic of memory timmings.
Ste is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 03:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

http://www.memtest86.com/#download0

download and see if you get any errors, i would test them both and if you get an error then test just 1 and so on.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 07:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
And your 100% Sure that your ordered this SAME Memory from a year apart?

Download Motherboard Moniter 5 or Everest and Post Pic of memory timmings.
I downloaded Motherboard Monitor 5, but I don't see any option to check the memory timings?
bonoz is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 07:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 286
Default

What could be the reason for this? before the computer ran fine. But as soon as I installed new memory there was a drastic decrement in speed. Now, even when I put the old memory in, in the same slot, just as it was, it still is slow.

Did I do something in the process of installing new memory? like move the video card? etc?
bonoz is offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 07:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Then download Everest...

Did you do what King suggested?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.