Installed new Hardware and now its crashing!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2008, 07:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Default Installed new Hardware and now its crashing!!!

I have been running amd 64 x2 4200. Just upgraded to a 5200 and put it in yesterday along with a cheap walmart $30.00 creative sound blaster audio card. everything installed fine and ran all night with no problems. got home today and tried to play a game and it kept freezing up randomly. it jsut freezes and i sometimes can ctrl alt del and start task manger and close the game but it still shuts down. a few times when it was loading vista it shutdown. Soooo.... question 1. is a 500w power supply enough for a 5200 and geforce 8800gt? could i have blown some dust while i was in there around and its causing a short? thanks in advance everyone!

Adam
__________________

SqueegeeKing is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Installed new Hardware and now its crashing!!!

As for the PSU question. Depends. Generic PSU or a good one? A generic might have issue. But i think you may have 2 seperate issues.

1. Did you reinstall Vista after the CPU change?
2. Did you disable onboard sound after you installed the new sound card?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:37 PM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Installed new Hardware and now its crashing!!!

You should at least do a repair install of Vista.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Installed new Hardware and now its crashing!!!

Vista doesnt have a Repair install.

Would have to reinstall it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:07 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Installed new Hardware and now its crashing!!!

Sorry I meant the Windows repair console when you put the Vista DVD in. Had to do that about 10 times on mine already . I just keep calling it repair install. Still too accustomed to XP.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.