Installed New CPU Fan - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-16-2006, 06:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 42
Default Installed New CPU Fan

I installed a Big Typhoon CPU fan for the 775 socket on top of my core 2 duo.

When I booted I got an error message for the CPU fan, prompting me to Bios -> Hardware Configuration.

The CPU Fan Speed = N/A but the fan is running.

So it's not reading it apparently. I checked everything, exited setup, and it said CPU Fan Error, F1 to resume. Loaded windows normally, no problems.

What can I do to resolve this? The fan is plugged into the mobo with a 3 pin connector, I have it set snugly in place and don't think I screwed anything up.

Any help is appreciated, thanks.
__________________

Snapple is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

This is probably a dumb question but do you have the fan plugged into the right connection? You will have up to three or four connections for fans on your motherboard. There is one specifically for your cpu fan and if nothing is plugged in here you would get an error similar to that one.
__________________

__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 42
Default

same plug as I had the stock intel heatsink plugged into, I think, but... i'm only human so I'm gonna double check lol
Snapple is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 42
Default

it was a 4pin cpu fan plug and the 3pin from the heatsink screwed me up, I realized I had it in the wrong one as soon as I opened it up and looked at them.

thanks alot
Snapple is offline  
Old 11-16-2006, 07:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

yup no prob
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.