Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2011, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help?

Yeah so i finally got my new RAM in today. I am able to go into BIOS n everything. Biggest issue im facing right now is that my system will NOT boot up to the Log In screen. When i try to run normally or thru Safe Mode, it will not do it. A few times i would get a quick flicker of a BSOD, but it is too quick for me to even know what the error is. This is driving me insane n im thinking of doing my last resort to buy an external HDD n back up my HDD n try reinstalling Windows 7 n possibly RMA my HDD for a new one. It is only two yrs old.

Right now, i have it in a docking station hooked up to a laptop n did 'check disk' n have it set for 'Automatically fix file system errors'. It looks like it found some n fixed it already as of this post. I am going to try to boot off it in my new PC again n post back some results.

A big question i have is why is it that when i replaced the mobo, ram, cpu, n gpu that my PC still wouldnt boot correctly?
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 02:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help?

I haven't been following your troubleshooting progress.
I do not know if you used the same motherboard or CPU or not.
if not, when you replaced your motherboard it is most likely you have to re-install windows. same with CPU.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 02:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
I haven't been following your troubleshooting progress.
I do not know if you used the same motherboard or CPU or not.
if not, when you replaced your motherboard it is most likely you have to re-install windows. same with CPU.
In a nutshell, my MSI K9A2 Platnium mobo n 3870 x2 GPU card was the culprit for causing my PC problems n finally died on me n it seems to of cause a booting issue with my HDD. I bought new parts n tested everything n sent them back for refunds. All that u see in my signature is brand new, except Win7, Tower case, HDD, n PSU.

I believe my HDD is still thinking it's linked to my old setup with that old mobo including my old Phenom II x4 940 n is derping n wont run properly. I have also found out that w/ this new mobo, ASUS Crosshair V Formula, is freezing on me sometimes when i enter in BIOS n do whatever. Could it be my HDD causing the problem? Idk.

What I've found out using SeaTools n testing out my 1TB HDD is that it is very healthy in everyway, just in the booting process it is derping on me. I will be calling customer service for the ASUS mobo and Seagate HDD n get help about my problem.

Last question, is re-installing the OS on a brand new mobo n CPU require me to go thru customer service of Microsoft just to get another activation?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 03:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help?

if you have different hardware from your initial windows installation, you have to reinstall windows.
speaking from experience, I had problems with just swapping a dual core cpu to a quad core cpu.

freezing in BIOS - No idea, could be a different issue altogether.

if you have OEM windows key, you most likely have to go through their customer service.
in my experience, it wasn't a big deal though. all I had to do was key in a couple LONG number codes. and it was all automated.
if you had retail key, I believe you can use the key on up to 3 computers without having to phone in for activation. (don't get me wrong, you can only have 1 active installation at any given time.)
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 03:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
if you have different hardware from your initial windows installation, you have to reinstall windows.
speaking from experience, I had problems with just swapping a dual core cpu to a quad core cpu.

freezing in BIOS - No idea, could be a different issue altogether.

if you have OEM windows key, you most likely have to go through their customer service.
in my experience, it wasn't a big deal though. all I had to do was key in a couple LONG number codes. and it was all automated.
if you had retail key, I believe you can use the key on up to 3 computers without having to phone in for activation. (don't get me wrong, you can only have 1 active installation at any given time.)
Swapping out CPUs wasnt an issue for me in the past.

The freezing in BIOS is an issue that i will ask ASUS about tomorrow morning.

My OS is OEM, so yeah i would have to call customer service. How long is the process to get a new activation key well at least thru ur experience?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 03:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help?

I think 10 minutes at most?
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 03:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
I think 10 minutes at most?
That makes me feel better inside . I've been working out my PC problems since i woke up today. Backing up all my Steam games. Forgot to mention that im currently booting off this 1TB HDD thru a laptop. So yeah, just have to back up the old fashion way again.

I also have to bug Sapphire to RMA my HD 3870 x2 because it has lifetime warranty n i already registered it yrs ago. They now give their products 2 yrs warranty but mine said lifetime.......so we r going to run into an issue here for sure.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 03:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help?

newegg is not always accurate with specification.

but I have the same grudge against Zotac. my board said lifetime warranty. now they are saying they only provide 2 years of warranty on my board.

*note, I made my purchase way way before they had setup the domain zotacusa.com. when I registered for my motherboard, I had to e-mail them to register my product. that's right, manual registration, someone actually e-mailed me back to confirm my registration. when I made the purchase, their global website says LIFETIME warranty, and I was expecting to receive lifetime warranty support. mother****ers... I am not going to buy zotac ever again.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 04:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help?

So u say i have no chance of winning this one? Doomed before starting?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 04:12 AM   #10 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Installed all new components, HDD is now acting up on booting, help?

no, that's not what I am saying.
I was just venting really.

and also reminding you that newegg is not always accurate with product information. in case that's where you got the lifetime warranty from.

for example, creative offer 1 year warranty on nearly all of their sounds cards. however, look at the reviews for this card, see how many reviewers mention 5 year warranty? I e-mailed in to newegg webmaster to notify them of this error. I feel sorry for people buying the sound card thinking it has 5 year warranty.

if you have proof of your card carrying lifetime warranty, by all means, fight for it.
file a compliant with the BBB, or take them to small claims court.
I do not have proof, zotac removed the warranty information from their global website.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cant see HDD after i installed ubuntu 10.10 Carrier110 Linux and Open Source 8 04-22-2011 12:19 AM
2 OS's installed on HDD, how to uninstall one of them? Willeh Microsoft Windows and Software 5 09-09-2006 10:31 PM
new hdd acting weird ChaosDingo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-13-2006 12:53 PM
not booting up after I installed new harddrive hinker Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-14-2006 01:34 AM
hdd acting wierd Dark_Sniper* Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 05-22-2005 03:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.