Installation and extraction failures - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2006, 12:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Installation and extraction failures

Hello,
This issue started several months ago.

A little background information:
My old power supply fan started to die, so I replaced the power supply with a Rosewill power supply. It shorted and fried my motherboard. After replacing the motherboard and power supply, I was able to use it for a while without, atleast what I remember as, any problems. I don't remember if I was having issues back then but anyway, I eventually replaced the motherboard and CPU with a socket 754 and an AMD Sempron 2800+ 64 bit.

The issue at hand:
Either after replacing the motherboard, or after replacing the CPU (I believe it was the CPU, but I'm not sure.) I was confronted with the issue of many installations not being able to complete due to "corrupt data" and the sort. This issue occured more frequently on archived files such as zip, rar, and cab extensions. My first assumption was the HDD, but I have tried multiple. The only things that I can see possible is a memory error or something to do with having a 64-bit processor running on a 32-bit operating system (Highly improbible as far as I can tell.). I'll try to get back to you on doing a memory check (If I can even get such a program to install correctly.). Any information that anyone has would be of great assistance to me.

Thanks in advance,
Denny
__________________

denreaper is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 02:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I ran MemTestx86 for approx. 13hrs. ~60 tests all turned out positive. I don't think that the memory is an issue. I'll still push it however and see if I can acquire another stick of memory for testing.
__________________

denreaper is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 03:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

After changing the motherboard, did you do a fresh install of the operating system.
brinks is offline  
Old 06-23-2006, 11:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Yes, several times since then.
denreaper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.