Inserting CD in CD-Writer boots the system - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2005, 02:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
Default Inserting CD in CD-Writer boots the system

I have a grave problem. It happens that whenever I access my CDROM Drive my computer reboots. I had checked CDROM on another system it is working fine. Also I had checked Power Supply, Data Cable and jumper setting of my CDROM. All are absolutely fine. I could not understand were the problem is.

Firstly I was using Windows 98, then when I got the problem I formatted my C:\ Drive and loaded the windows 2000 Server but the problem remains same. ie. In 8 out of 10 times System Reboots when CD is inserted in CD Drive and it starts to rotate. I also tried to boot my system with Windows 98 boot disk (With CD Rom Drive) but the problem remains the same. System booted on
accessing CDROM. The Specifications are: P III (550 MHZ), 128 MB RAM, Mercury i810 DST Motherboard and Samsung 52X CD R/RW. Plz help me as soon as possible. I personally think that the problem is related to Hardware conflict or some Device drivers , but could not make sure were the problem is.

devom is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

so there are no symptoms whatsoever shown on these other systems when using the drive. no strange happenings or performance problems? if there are no symptoms on other computers i would have to say a motherboard/ide controller issue.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

It sounds like a PSU problem. To turn the CD, the drive uses 12V, and more power consumption than usual. Sudden reboots are often caused by PSU problems.

Read my guide to random reboots at the top of this forum for some more info.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 05:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

turn off autoreboot on system failure in the system and recovery section in system properties and post the error, chk eventvwr and also post the error (the first will lock the system, but will also see what errors we get). Do this a few times to see if it is the same error or different each time.
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 07:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Replace the IDE 1 (Cdrom) Ribbon cable. Sounds like a cable short to me.
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 10:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4

I had tried this also. Replaced cable , but fault continues...........
Plz help
devom is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 11:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40

I have to agree with the statement in one of the previous posts, because to me it sounds like a classic case of a Power supply going out. At this time I cant think of anything else, but usually with symptoms like you are experiencing it isnt a mystery, and almost always is a PSU going bad. Well wait, I just had a thought that it is possible that if any recent upgrades in hardware could "most of the time" make it appear that the PSU is dead if the hardware upgrade was significantly more demanding of power. Also, I have seen where a system is burdened with hardware demanding more power than what it has or just on the border line, and causes intermittent power loss or restarts. This hasnt happened often, but keep this in mind if you have made any upgrades recently and if not I still agree that you need to replace your power supply.

\"No matter how deeply troubled you are, you can always change if you\'re willing.\"
Brentb2607 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.