Inf Files - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2006, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default Inf Files

Hey i have been having this problem with loading new Graphics card drivers.


Im am currently trying to update my catalst drivers. to 6.5.
I am running a ausu EAX 600 XT radeon card.
I can load the noirmal drivers but if i try to update i get an INF error. Saying
INF Error. Video Driver not found.
Load Standard VGA drivers or something.

I have just redone my system to no avail.
Can someome please help.
__________________

wings is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 01:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the inf file is kind of the index for installing the drivers. it tells the computer which driver files go where, and what they are

I'd say you have some missing files in your drivers
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 04:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Thanx
I installed with the original drivers that i got with my card. BUt if i try to update to anything higher it comes up with the INF error//
Is there anyway to fix this?
wings is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 12:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Is it after a reboot you get the errors? And are These the drivers you are installing and did you install the .net frameworks first and Have you installed Direct X 9.0c
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

have you tried installing them without the ASUS enhanced drivers installed? maybe there is some form of conflict...
joshd is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
Default

hey thanx alll
i finally got the inf error to go away..i loaded an older version it seemed to work. but when i tried the latest catalyst drivers. my system would start but then crash n restart itself. so went back to the 5.5 and have had no problems since.
__________________

wings is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.