Inconsisten processor speed in system display - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2008, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Inconsisten processor speed in system display

Sort of an odd problem but I think it's effecting my graphics output.

I just recently had a new hard drive installed in my machine and now when I open System Properties the processor speed varies. It's supposed to be 2.40GHz and this is what the BIOS shows correctly. However, when I view the system properties General panel the number changes almost every time I bring it up.

So far it has ranged from only 986MHz to 1.80GHz back up to 2.40GHz
Since the BIOS consistently shows 2.4GHz I initially thought this was a non-issue. But it appears that certain applications are running slower than they were before we replaced the hard drive as if the speed is fluctuating in real time. I don't see how a new HD would effect the processor speed so much or at all.

Anyone encountered this before, have any ideas? Thanks!
__________________

Naeco is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 07:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Inconsisten processor speed in system display

do you have speedstep enabled? or whatever the equivalent is for AMD?
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 07:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Inconsisten processor speed in system display

Its probably this:

http://www.techist.com/forums/f76/sp...lained-165312/
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 07:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Inconsisten processor speed in system display

nobody checks the stickies anymore...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 07:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Inconsisten processor speed in system display

Hello,

Yah it's normal.
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Inconsisten processor speed in system display

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
nobody checks the stickies anymore...
haha, go to any forum. It is pretty normal.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: Inconsisten processor speed in system display

Hey do I look like I have time to check stickies on every brand new forum I visit?

Besides, the explanation he linked me too is on an entirely different forum (building, buying, upgrading, etc).

BUT, thanks for the info, much appreciated.
Naeco is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 02:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Inconsisten processor speed in system display

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naeco View Post
Hey do I look like I have time to check stickies on every brand new forum I visit?

Besides, the explanation he linked me too is on an entirely different forum (building, buying, upgrading, etc).

BUT, thanks for the info, much appreciated.
yes, it is customary that a new member read the stickies. They are STICKIED for a reason...
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 03:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Inconsisten processor speed in system display

Quote:
Originally Posted by nOcLuE98 View Post
yes, it is customary that a new member read the stickies. They are STICKIED for a reason...
^^ pretty much, its there so you don't look like an idiot when you could have just read a sticky

also thats a terrible excuse because my guide is in the Hardware Sticky Index which is a sticky in the whole hardware zone
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-01-2008, 03:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Inconsisten processor speed in system display

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
^^ pretty much, its there so you don't look like an idiot when you could have just read a sticky

also thats a terrible excuse because my guide is in the Hardware Sticky Index which is a sticky in the whole hardware zone
yepp.. I sometimes feel like a retard when I dont read them..
__________________

__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.