Inaccessable boot device - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2005, 12:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Default Inaccessable boot device

I reformatted my HD and reinstalled Windows onto my slave drive. My master said it has corrupted files and appears dead. My system won't boot normally. It says:

Failed to ARC READ to check for signature. I/O error 00000100. It forces me to do a repair or reinstall (partial) ...when it loads and gets to the Help screen I can exit and when it reboots it requires me to put in the Operating System Recovery disc and it then reboots from the CD. A friend says it could be disc controller card or bad HD (again?) Please help a newbie. Thanks.

jbrazjr is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 12:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4

Excuse me, the error message mentioned above actually says
" Failed to ARCREAD the Boot Patiction to check for signature"
Again. appreciate any help or suggestions. Thanks !

jbrazjr is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 01:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher

ARC is the language the BOOT.INI file is based off of. Does everything look cool with your BOOT.INI? You should be able to view it via the XP recovery console and maybe there will be some bad switch command or something of that sort.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21

Just for everyone out there. If the roles of the HDs was switched. The slave becomes the master and the master becomes the slave. Would it boot from the new master drive if the other HD is corrupt? Maybe just change the boot order to look at the good HD first.

Then you might be able to trouble shoot the bad one. Somebody tell me if I'm wrong it was just a theory.
knerrmj is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 09:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4

Thanks much but I now only have one HD hooked up and it is giving me " Failed to ARCREAD the Boot Partition to check for signature". I did a search for the Boot.ini and it dies find it. Thanks for the responses. I'm still searching.
jbrazjr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.