Image Display Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2009, 10:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
skylinegtrv98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 65
Default Image Display Problem

I am having an interesting problem with my most recent build. The build went on without and issue, and I was able to install Vista without problem, and I was even able to install the chipset drivers that came with the mobo... After the restart I went to increase the display resolution, and that is where the problems began. The higher I would try and set the settings the quicker the screen would flicker. Even setting back to the default lowest settings would cause the screen to flicker albeit at a slower interval. I tried to reinstall the OS, and this had no effect. I even went into the bios and tried to increase the amount of shared ram to the internal graphic card....Any help would be greatly appreciated....my build is as follows...



ECS GF8200A (V1.0) AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 8200 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
Item #: N82E16813135085

Newegg.com - ECS GF8200A (V1.0) AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 8200 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards


G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBNT - Retail
Item #: N82E16820231207

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory


AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600 Brisbane 2.9GHz Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor Model ADO5600DOBOX - Retail
Item #: N82E16819103234

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 5600 Brisbane 2.9GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

hec HP585D RETAIL 585W ATX12V Power Supply - Power Cord Included - Retail
Item #: N82E16817339012

Newegg.com - hec HP585D RETAIL 585W ATX12V Power Supply - Power Cord Included - Power Supplies



SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Item #: N82E16822152102

Newegg.com - SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
__________________

skylinegtrv98 is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Image Display Problem

i had a similar problem with my old 8500GT, it would do what you are describing but in slower intervals (once every 30 mins) never really found a solution to this problem but i just switched from a VGA port to a DVI port when i got my monitor then the problem went away.

try a diff cable/monitor.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
skylinegtrv98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 65
Default Re: Image Display Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
i had a similar problem with my old 8500GT, it would do what you are describing but in slower intervals (once every 30 mins) never really found a solution to this problem but i just switched from a VGA port to a DVI port when i got my monitor then the problem went away.

try a diff cable/monitor.
;

Hmm I don't think it is the cable, because the cable I used was working fine on my other computer with my monitor I was using it with....and I did try it with a different monitor, without success....This is my first build with an Invidia IGP...i usually use ATI chipset mobos...Unfortunately the board only has VGA and HDMI video output, and the computer is for my uncle and I am sure he will be using the VGA, so switching to HDMI wouldn't really solve the problem....Is it something that will probably mean that I will have to RMA the board?
skylinegtrv98 is offline  
Old 03-28-2009, 11:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Image Display Problem

i dont know, have you got all of windows updates as well as the new nvidia drivers?

GeForce Release 182
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 01:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
skylinegtrv98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 65
Default Re: Image Display Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
i dont know, have you got all of windows updates as well as the new nvidia drivers?

GeForce Release 182
Yes I have recently installed and downloaded all windows updates as well as the new nvidia drivers from their website...

The odd thing is that starting the computer in Safe mode makes the computer display work fine without any flickering...making me think this is a sort of software error instead of hardware error...
skylinegtrv98 is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 02:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Image Display Problem

Try an older Display Driver.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 09:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Image Display Problem

hmm, well i would try to get the latest drivers for every thing and get the latest bios, since it is a IGP then a bios update might help it.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-29-2009, 11:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
skylinegtrv98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 65
Default Re: Image Display Problem

Yeah I had the latest bios and drivers, and windows updates...While it did appear to be a software issue...I just decided to return the board and get a new one, and hopefully it was just a bad board...It was such an odd problem, and I just think it had to be something with the board itself...I am basically in a bit of a time crunch with this build so I didn't wanna waste time...just RMA and hope the next one works better
__________________

skylinegtrv98 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
display problem devinw Microsoft Windows and Software 7 10-20-2008 06:30 PM
Display Problem. alexfamous Microsoft Windows and Software 1 10-09-2008 12:21 PM
LG W1942S LCD 19" setting and image quality problem... JamesAlfred Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-18-2008 07:34 AM
hp laptop display problem htrdcamaro Laptops and Notebooks 6 05-07-2008 09:23 PM
Image problem cool.blue Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-11-2007 10:32 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.