I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2009, 03:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
WolfgangCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jackson, TN
Posts: 51
Angry I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?!

Laptop has XP SP2 and was running updates, downloading AVG, Firefox, and did a crucial scan on ram to see what it had. Crucial had finished and so had Firefox. The AVG just finished and windows updates were still going. The system just shut off. The ram was super hot. She had a total of 288MB (256MB and 32MB). I am thinking the ram failed?! I tried to reboot and all I got was the bios boot screen, but couldn't get into BIOS nor was the HDD running (only for a split second right at power on). I had rebooted twice before this accrued. any ideas?


Is running updates on SP2 a bad idea?
__________________

WolfgangCS is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 09:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?!

no updates certainly shouldn't cause anything like that and arent related to post at all....it may be that the ram has gone from over heating.....do you get any beep codes from the motherboard when you turned it on>? is the system running now?
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 11:35 AM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?!

Remove the 32MB stick and try running with only the 256MB.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 11:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?!

Does the hard drive make a clicking sound immediately upon turning the computer on? If so it is your hard drive that has encountered bad sectors and gone caput. Otherwise I would blame either stick of RAM, hopefully the 32mb stick.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 11:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Asylum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 138
Default Re: I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?!

With only 256 mb of ram im suprised its runs at all..I think Xp requires atleast 1 gig to operate...
__________________
Processor: Core i7 920 4.2Ghz 24/7
Motherboard: EVGA X58 758 SLI
Cooling: Water cooling
Memory: 2x3Gig Kingston Hyper X 2100Mhz
Video Card: XFX GTX285
Harddisk: 2-Seagate Barracuda 250GB in RAID 0
Case: APEVIA X-JUPITER G-Type X
PSU: Corsair 1000 Watt Modular
Asylum is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 12:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Asylum View Post
With only 256 mb of ram im suprised its runs at all..I think Xp requires atleast 1 gig to operate...
XP requires 256mb
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 01:08 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?!

Actually the required amount is 128. Recommended is 256MB.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 01:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
Actually the required amount is 128. Recommended is 256MB.
Clarification is always good. I was about to amend my post because I thought I remembered having a laptop machine with 128mb.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 04-16-2009, 03:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
WolfgangCS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Jackson, TN
Posts: 51
Default Re: I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?!

I found that if I reset the battery it boots again. In windows it shows that it has 244MB and the ram slot is empty in the back. THe HDD does not back any scratching sounds nor does it rattle. It boots fine now. I was told by the user that if the battery is reset it will work fine as long as the system has had time to cool off. Any ideas why it might just all of a sudden shut off?


It also notes that the video ram is 32MB

I can tell the system has been dropped one good time.

PS- I don't know about you guys but I make sure I take nery extra care of my systems (maintenance and handling). What are some people thinking? also when it is a system that they use for work or has very vital info on it?! as if they just chuck it here and there (sorry, side note)
WolfgangCS is offline  
Old 04-17-2009, 12:52 PM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: I'm thinking bad ram on this lappy?!

It very well sounds like an overheating problem. Take the back panel off and ensure that there is no dust and that the fan is running properly.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core i7 build not booting with all RAM jesspren6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 03-29-2009 02:39 AM
Added RAM, no performance increase? drewjustforyou System Upgrades 2 03-21-2009 08:06 PM
PC3200, bad RAM? manowar System Upgrades 4 03-06-2009 03:31 PM
Bad Ram? The Napster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 03-02-2009 10:52 AM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.