I'm not sure what the problem is - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2010, 11:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default I'm not sure what the problem is

So i've been putting this off for WAAAY too long.

About 6 months ago when i built my new system, everything was fine and pee-chee. I put some games on it to see how they ran, sweet, everything looks smooth. After a couple of days, my Keyboard would periodically stop working when i log onto windows, unplugging and replugging it in would fix it. My internal card reader on another occasion quit working altogether (goes off of internal USB), and also when I would play games like LFD2, UT3 (especially), or CODMW2, they would be UBER laggy. like 10fps laggy on a i5 and 5770. I'm thinking WTF is happening? over the course of two days, i've had my keyboard and card reader not work, and my games are super slow.

So first things first, i checked the temps. Overheating?

nope. Everything's well within margin.

hmm....


PSU? maybe there's not enough juice to run this thing? So I unplugged my backup HD to re-route power and all my problems went away.

For the last 6 months since I disconnected my backup, i have yet to have the keyboard problems, card reader issues, or game performance glitches.

So i'm just wondering if i'm correct in thinking my PSU isn't beefy enough?

I have an OCZ GameXStream 700W on:

EVGA P55LE
i5 750
5770
1 1.5TB SATA
1 640GB SATA
XFi extrememusic
some LG Blu-ray burner
and the card reader.

I would think that a 700W PSU could handle that.

So I found this:
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V 2.2 / EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply

would that be good enough? Fry's i'm pretty sure is the same price and they're less than an hour away.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-06-2010, 11:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: I'm not sure what the problem is

I'm running all my setup all on a Corsair 520hx... Unless the PSU is going bad, maybe the backup HDD has problems itself?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 05:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Re: I'm not sure what the problem is

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I'm running all my setup all on a Corsair 520hx... Unless the PSU is going bad, maybe the backup HDD has problems itself?
but what i don't understand is how the HD would cause problems with my usb ports.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-07-2010, 05:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: I'm not sure what the problem is

Try updating your chipset drivers. They could be corrupt. That would screw your keyboard and reader and could be slowing up your CPU.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 10:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Re: I'm not sure what the problem is

already did that when i first built the system, i'm pretty sure it's the PSU.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-12-2010, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: I'm not sure what the problem is

700W is enough but unfortunately that PSU model can be flaky. Mine works fine on my single CPU machine but would routinely mess up on my dual CPU machine...
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having a strange problem NexDeus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-20-2009 01:20 PM
Problem installing software in windows xp pro imagesmith Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-20-2008 02:46 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.