im new have stop error problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2007, 11:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: mckinney tx
Posts: 7
Default im new have stop error problem

hi to all and thanks in advance.... my home computer crashed suddenly the other day and has this blue screen of death with error message stop : 0x0000007e (0xc605, 0x00001496,0xf8994730,0xf8994430). heres the deal...... ive been through some bad computer crashes before and saved this thing but this ones got me. i cant get into safe mode. i cant reload windows cause i cant find my disk. i dont have a floppy rescue. (i know... i should back stuff up!! agh!!!) i have hijackthis on this hard drive if i could get "into" it i could fix it. i did get access to the a: drive via a ms dos boot disk i made. (im doing all this repair and talking with you on an old xp hard drive). so in summary, ive got the blue screen, cant get past it, cant reload, dont have disks BUT i do have a working good Hard drive to get files off of. another thing is i tried to put these drives in series to transfer anything but it didnt recognize the problem one. i guess the problem one could be dead. all this started after i updated direct x 9.0 drivers i think..... which jives with the "driver connotations" of this error code. thanks for any help you can give me. some kind of ms dos based command i could try? ive forgotten all my ms dos lingo over the years.... lol thanks gus

shoebox1.1 is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: im new have stop error problem


Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-18-2007, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: mckinney tx
Posts: 7
Default Re: im new have stop error problem

ive been there before.... i did download a bios upgrade but im scared to flash it.... risky buisness. id rather not reflash the board. what can i do from A:\ ? what could i copy from my good working drive and boot from A:\ with? thanks
shoebox1.1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to stop my RAM OCing snypercore New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-29-2007 12:29 PM
Stop Code 0x000000F4 Yek Microsoft Windows and Software 6 08-28-2007 05:17 AM
Windows Stop Error digitaldiva Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-10-2007 05:48 PM
How can I make it stop?? Buxilaks Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 06-15-2007 06:44 AM
*** STOP: 0x0000001E Error messages :( NayNay1991x Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 09:05 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.