I'm beginning to become desperate... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 09:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default I'm beginning to become desperate...

Ok I'll start by not going into the long story of how my comp got fried in first place (in short i got a ram chip dirty after taking it out ((i think)) and when i put it back in *POP* and the smell of smoke........) and say this i need help determining if my new assemblys mother board CPU socket (it's a BRAND NEW motherboard but i put the old proc in it) is fried or my processor (from the computer that was fried). Is there any reasonable explination why my assembly would not work with new everything except my power supply graphics card and processor (both from old assembly). Basicly answer me this, when i put the dirty ram chip in my old machine and it fried, what part(s) could have gotten fried?


Aside from all above comments, my new assembly comes on, but seconds after powering up the proc pops and it is hot w/ a lil smoke. I realize that either the cpu or cpu socket must be broken of course but could putting my possibly fried processor (assuming it is fried) into my new MB fry my new Mother Boards slot or any other part?

I know all this is worded confusingly and my apologies for any complications that are a result of my wording or grammar.
__________________

Justcallmebob is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default

My apologies but i forgot to mention that i ask theese questions because im trying to buy a new processor and dont want to somehow damage by putting it into my new board. (ie my new board IS fried b/c of old processor and the fried socket breaks the new cpu that i put in it).
__________________

Justcallmebob is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

For one, if the machine powers up, but nothing happens on the screen, that's when a processor is dead. If you can get to the BIOS, the processor works.

Two, are you putting the CPU in without a heatsink/fan? Please, please do not tell me you are trying to run the comp without a heatsink/fan on the CPU!

Three, if the machine boots up, then shuts down shortly thereafter, then it's possible the PSU is gone or not powerful enough.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 09:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Heck no im not lol. Im not a wise techie but im no moron.

Thanks for confirming that about the processor as it solves some of my complications, but is there a way to tell wether or not the processor is fried or the procesor SLOT is fried or is a slot getting broken b/c of a chip (or perhaps vice versa) even possible?
In other words can i be shure its the processor thats not working or the slot its connected to thats not working?
Justcallmebob is offline  
Old 07-27-2006, 05:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

ya, youd need another processor to test the possibly fried board, , alos snake eyes, if a comp turns on and does nothing it cna also be ram no in the thing,,
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.