If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2008, 05:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 51
Default If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong

hi
built this new pc used a cooler master 600w it has a red LED on the back which does not light up. Got the pc up and running installed some software turned the pc off went to bed. Then tried to power it up in the morning but its dead and now the red led is on but the motherboard led is off. So there cant be any power getting to the motherboard.

Does anyone know what that led on the back of the psu means?? Oh I got one more psu same kind that led does not light up so it must only come on when there is a problem and there is no mention of it in the handbook.

thanks
__________________

pspec is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 06:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong

Red light on that thing means a Power Failure, Short circuit, or a Power Surge, if you can't get it to run after unplugging it and plugging it back it prob a dead power supply
__________________

__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 06:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong

Just plugged one more new psu same kin in to the motherboard and the motherboard led is not coming on do you think it killed the board
pspec is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 09:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong

There is a possibility you killed the board, have you tested either of those PSUs in another machine, if not you'd have to do that or take one out of a working machine and try in on yours to know 100%, if it still doesn't work after that then that would be my best bet.
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-23-2008, 12:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong

hooked up new psu to the board and the led on the board didn't light. then i used the wire trick on the psu (the other new psu that we think has gone bang). that is i hooked a case fan up to the psu and used the wire to trip the psu to turn on and the fan didnt move. if you put your ear to the psu it sound a bit like a small cricket very quiet. oh and the psu fan isn't kicking in. so i think they are both dead what do you think???? and where do you think i stand on a refund as they are both new fresh out the box. got them from 2 dif suppliers dont know if that would be a problem

thanks
pspec is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 12:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong

if u got two dead psu's (that are the same) i suggest you don't buy another one because there prob crap.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-24-2008, 01:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong

Quote:
Originally Posted by pspec View Post
hooked up new psu to the board and the led on the board didn't light. then i used the wire trick on the psu (the other new psu that we think has gone bang). that is i hooked a case fan up to the psu and used the wire to trip the psu to turn on and the fan didnt move. if you put your ear to the psu it sound a bit like a small cricket very quiet. oh and the psu fan isn't kicking in. so i think they are both dead what do you think???? and where do you think i stand on a refund as they are both new fresh out the box. got them from 2 dif suppliers dont know if that would be a problem

thanks
Just RMA them to each respective company, and report them as DOA. Get a refund if you can, and then get a better PSU (check the Power Supply Guide that's stickied in various boards around the site).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 05:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong

Thanks
As per usually you guys are a great help sent off email reporting them as doa.

Thanks again
pspec is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 08:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong

No problem.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-25-2008, 03:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: If luck was money I would be a poor man actually I am poor something's wrong

anytime
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C# Ideas - Working With Coins & Bills SpikedCola Programming 8 02-17-2008 02:08 PM
Help with objects in Java PnkFloyd27 Programming 20 06-15-2007 08:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.