IDE ports... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2008, 09:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IDE ports...

Hello oldskool,

Check out my information of OEM vs Retail here:

Differences between OEM and Retail

Most of the time when you see a OEM disc for sale on ebay you will see a brand name by it like Dell or HP. Those discs are for those types of systems. But from NewEgg or TiregerDirect those OEM discs are full discs just like the Retail discs and can be used on any system. It is cheaper for people to buy OEM over Retail. As Retail doesnt offer much more than amount of times it can be activated.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 11:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: IDE ports...

Thank you, Mak, for the link !
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 09:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IDE ports...

Hello oldskool,

Not a problem. Check out hte windows area and the Index for a bunch of threads tha hold some good info.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 07:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: IDE ports...

Thanks guys for all the info, you'll be happy to know I've received all my gear from Newegg. But now im having probs... the PC keeps rebooting while im trying to install Vista? any suggests?

I posted this in a diff forum section but posting here as well

New System, Random shut down, no OS -- HELP!
Garg11 is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 09:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: IDE ports...

Hello,

Have you updated the BIOS?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 10:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: IDE ports...

lol nevermind, My CPU fan wasn't attached fully... was ramping the temp upto 117c fixed it.... maxin at 66c now... thanks for the prompt reply tho Mak
Garg11 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 11:54 AM   #17 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: IDE ports...

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool View Post
Ok, I forgot to mention that you would use a SATA to IDE bridge chip like this one found at this URL

SATA MINI BRIDGE CONVERTER SATA DRIVE TO IDE CONNECTOR

Also, I braincramped, SATA doesn't need to be set to master or slave. I knew that it could be done though, regarding hooking a SATA drive into a IDE controller slot.
LOL, I just ran across this thread while searching for something else...

That's kind of a big WHOOPS!

This whoopsy reminds me of that thread here when that dude clipped his PCI card to make it fit into the slot... :laughing: :freak: Man, that was a long time ago. Anyone remember that thread? :tumbleweed rolls by:
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sata as boot, IDE as storage SapperX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 02-01-2008 06:22 PM
IDE trouble Vonshudo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-06-2008 08:01 PM
IDE hard drive to SATA connector? dashogun New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-29-2007 09:08 AM
Only one IDE device connecter...? bey0nd Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 11-08-2007 04:22 PM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.