IDE Drives detected... but cannot access. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2006, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Default IDE Drives detected... but cannot access.

I'm stumpped!

I have a computer that worked fine until the person installed Norton Internet Securities 2006. After the reboot, she would get the blue screen on startup and the computer would restart.

It did go into safe mode ok... I tried to remove norton through add/remove prog and that failed because the install log file is missing. So i donwloaded the SynNRT and the manual removal instructions from Symante. I did all that and restarted - still was getting teh blue screen.

After restarting, removing startup items, checked for spyware/adware... nothing.

So i tested the RAM using PCCHECK 5 and MemTest x86+. No problems with RAM, and mobo basic checks are ok. REmoved all other items from the computer (except video & the hdds). Eventually it would load into windows... then it would freeze up and sit there. I can see the hdd working...and working hard. At any random time it goes blue screen again.

Got error 0x0000008e ... very basic troubleshooting steps for this error.

I know this is getting long... i'll go point form now...

- took hdd's out, tried to access info to do a backup using USB external cases... shows up in Disk Management... but does not show up in My Computer.

- Did same with 2nd hdd and cannot see info on them.
- plugged drives into IDE on my PC - Disk Management sees them, but no drive letters assigned and does not show in My COmputer.

Anyone have a clue?

Oh and I did use the Maxtor Diags software too to see if the hdd's were ok - says its good.

htcs is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 04:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

sounds like the partition/file table has been corrupted. try using a partition recovery tool. i'm not very familiar with many but you can google them

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

Norton.. yuck!!

Sounds to me like norton corrupted one of your registry hives, try restoring to a previous system restore point.
Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 04-09-2006, 10:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188

Tried the system restore point... we tried up to a month ago.. that didn't seem to make a difference.

I will try a partition recovery tool to see if that works.


Any other suggestions are still welcome!
htcs is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 08:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8

maybe your hdd is bad !
vnpinklife is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 11:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 378
Send a message via AIM to Anphrax

Sig privileges back.

I love you sig santa :D
Anphrax is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 12:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665

we should really make a sticky 'what to do if norton f's over you computer' cause thats like a thread every week.....

Forgot to add my advice, before you format break that norton disk in half, then format, reinstall windows.
Sui is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 09:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188

I hear you! I definately believe it was the Norton GoBack Crap!

The only Norton Software that I don't have too much trouble with supporting is just the Anti-Virus... i hate the stupid Internet Securities, GoBack, Utilities and whatever else Symantec makes!!!

I will be reformatting tonight to see if the issues continue or not.

htcs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.