IBM T20 Freezing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2006, 08:08 AM   #1 (permalink)

Baez's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,985
Default IBM T20 Freezing

OK I have a good ol' IBM T20 P3 800MHz laptop here I'm trying to fix.

The beginning problem was that it was freezing on Windows loading. But, it would load as soon as choosing Safe Mode. So I thot, "Alright it's a driver problem." So I removed everything from start-up list and used driver rollback etc. and it still didnt work. So I ended up reformatting sadly. I also ran all the tests (MemTest, Drive Fitness Test etc.) since this IBM is too old to have the doctor.

So I reformatted and reinstalled but it would keep freezing at the device installation phase. So I tested the harddrive fully and Drive Fitness found errors and fixed a bunch of stuff. So this time it worked when installing. Finally, it booted up and I thot it was finally fixed when NO, it froze at startup again when I installed SP2 (my XP cd is SP1). So I ran the Drive Fitness again and it found more errors. So I bought a new harddrive thinking it had to be it. And of course it isnt.

It is now back to freezing at installation at exactly "35 mins remaining" while installing devices.

Can anyone PLEASE help me I'm going insane. I can't stand old computers! (except for my P1 75MHz )



Baez is offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 04:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K

i had a similar problem with my P3 intel, when i would load her up at windows desktop if would freez up.
try pulling out the RAM for like 10 min. and then reseat it
if that doesnt work ur gonna buy a new stick of RAM sound like its failing

Memtest finds the most common errors found in RAM but not all errors can be found

P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1

I have been trying to cure my T20 for over a year. It frequently locks up with the BSOD when I need it most. Recently I downloaded a temperature monitor from

I quickly discovered that the T20 temp would suddenly zoom up past 91 degrees C and shutdown. If I put it on an ice pack the problem disappeared.
After working with the temp monitor, and Lenovo, and Microsoft for updates to the Power monitor, it seems to have stabilized.

The monitor shows the freq as either 760 mhz or 600 mhz, and the temp varies from 80 down to 47, but so farno BSOD.
invicta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.