I want to make this TV my monitor. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2007, 04:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default I want to make this TV my monitor.

So, I'm an experienced computer user. I've been on this problem for a few days and have tried EVERYTHING that I can think of. I have a 19" LCD Computer Monitor and I have a 32" Sharp LCD TV that I want to use when I watch movies on my computer. The TV works fine in safe mode, but it will not load windows. At first I thought it was the refresh rate, or the resolution. So I lowered those down as far as they will go, but with no luck. I tried reinstalling the video card drivers. I've tried a new monitor cable. I've tried using s-video, and it actually works but the quality is so bad that I'd rather go out and rent the movie on DVD. I've tried a different slot on my video card. I've tried jiggling and wiggling for hours but nothing happens. It's just black! I have been playing around with my video card settings for hours and tried everything but nothing seems to work.

The thing that I don't get is it worked about a month ago on my computer and I haven't gotten any new hardware or software; I'm baffled. Help!
__________________

jojobombiest is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 03:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: I want to make this TV my monitor.

I know this is obvious and you already probably did all this, but have you looked at the TV manual and changed settings on that side of things. Just a thought.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: I want to make this TV my monitor.

I haven't done it but that shouldn't make a difference because the TV worked fine a few weeks ago, and still works in safe mode. I'm sure it has to be something with my computer, I just don't know what...
jojobombiest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My monitor with the xbox 360 dwaynesox Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 10-16-2007 11:32 PM
Monitor resetting Screamsalvation Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 16 07-30-2007 03:58 PM
Confusion With a Monitor khan008 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-08-2007 06:51 AM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.