I took my own advice. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2007, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default I took my own advice.

So I had always wondered to myself, why reguardless of the settings, my overclock was never stable, why Crysis or other games would error out sometimes. I simply thought I hadn't found the right combination of voltages yet..

I was wrong..


I decided to run memtest..
And, well.......



















Ten Thousand Errors In UNDER three minutes!!!!!
So yea, to test whether its my board or the memory I am going to throw in some different memory and try again...

But, yea, I nearly died a few times over..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I took my own advice.

So I ran the other memory and it returned no errors in the same amount of time.

So yea, new memory time..
Crucial tracers..
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
If no other suggestions.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Benevolent Cake Despot
 
Merkwürdigeliebe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Posts: 1,733
Default Re: I took my own advice.

I have a pair of those and I'm loving them. There's not only the LEDs on top, but a glow on the bottom, sort of like under souped up cars. Great looking RAM with the legendary performance of the Ballistix series

Good luck man!
__________________
|Intel Q6600 | 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers | XFX 8800GTS 512 | Gigabyte P35-DS3L | Antec 900 | Antec Neo 500 HE |
Merkwürdigeliebe is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: I took my own advice.

maybe...

Newegg.com - pqi 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 01:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I took my own advice.

What would you guys reccommend if I wanted DDR2 1000?

Now that I know it was my Memory causing all the problems I am sure if my Q6600 can hit 3.7 Ghz why not 3.8 or even 3.9 Ghz?
I don't want my memory to be overclocked at all, I want it to run below it designed Speed..

This one I guess?
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
Ste is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 11:30 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: I took my own advice.

Those look very nice. For running under their stock speed, I think those would be an excellent choice. I think you should be able to get a nice OC with those and also a low memory timing as well. I finally got 3.5GHz stable on mine. Been watching your test here and decided to check mine. Kinda hard to check 4GB in windows, but what I did check is fine. Trying the memtest86 later. Which memtest did you use?
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 11:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I took my own advice.

Ste...buy the pc6400 tracers. All they do is loosen the timings so they have a faster clock then charge you double the price. Regular tracers are 4-4-4-12 rated and will easily run 1066. Mine run at 4-4-3-8 timings all the way up to 950 mhz.

BTW what memory were you running that had the errors.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 01:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: I took my own advice.

what if all that oc'ing f'd your ram? lol
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 02:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: I took my own advice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by prvrt View Post
Those look very nice. For running under their stock speed, I think those would be an excellent choice. I think you should be able to get a nice OC with those and also a low memory timing as well. I finally got 3.5GHz stable on mine. Been watching your test here and decided to check mine. Kinda hard to check 4GB in windows, but what I did check is fine. Trying the memtest86 later. Which memtest did you use?
Its not an in windows Test, its Memtest86+, its a self boot CD.

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Ste...buy the pc6400 tracers. All they do is loosen the timings so they have a faster clock then charge you double the price. Regular tracers are 4-4-4-12 rated and will easily run 1066. Mine run at 4-4-3-8 timings all the way up to 950 mhz.

BTW what memory were you running that had the errors.
Hrmm, makes sense, ok then..



Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
what if all that oc'ing f'd your ram? lol
No, The test was the RAM running at it's designed Speeds, the RAM was never overclocked more than 50 Mhz, so I REALLY doubt it.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 03:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I took my own advice.

From what i've read the only real way to kill memory is by owning a 680i board (for serious) or putting too much voltage through them. Havent heard of memory dying just from being oc'd.

Ste what kind of memory was it mang.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building a gaming PC - advice please! Blue_Raja System Upgrades 12 11-10-2007 08:27 AM
I'm building a new system between now and January - advice? Akumajin New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-28-2007 07:41 AM
CPU upgrade advice bmass New Systems | Building and Buying 24 07-02-2007 12:47 PM
New build advice needed sguffee New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-12-2007 11:48 PM
Building Media Computer - Need Advice bigbaddog Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 04-12-2007 11:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.