I think it's my vid card... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2010, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default I think it's my vid card...

About two weeks ago, my computer would just freeze up every now and then, and I think it mainly occurred when I was doing something video-intensive, such as watching a video or playing a game. It only happened maybe once every few days, so I thought very little of it. Now, it happens all of the time. I'm amazed I'm even able to type this message without it freezing up. It still mainly happens during video-intensive computing, but it takes a lot less for it to crash now.
I have an HD4850, Q6600, two sticks of 1GB Corsair XMS2, and I just tried a new PS, PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W. I tried swapping the sticks of RAM, same problem, tried running the Windows 7 RAM checker, no errors.
I'm pretty sure it's a problem with my video card, as that would make the most sense, but I was trying the easiest fixes first before I had to replace my vid card. I updated drivers on the vid card, still same problems.
Any ideas? Or is it time for a new vid card?
Thanks,
-Scott

EDIT: Sorry, Q9300. Don't know if that matters or not.
__________________

__________________
CPU Q9300 @ 2.5GHz, for now
GPU HD4850 512MB
Display X2Gen 19" LCD
Mobo Biostar TPower I45
Mem 2 GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
CaseApollo NZXT Black
Cooling Xigmatek something
Goodonebales is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 10:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I think it's my vid card...

By swapping ram, do you me slots?

Not sure on the win7 memtest, but d/l and run memtest boot cd and try it.

Also try atitools artifact scanner. It'll load just the gpu.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 07:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: I think it's my vid card...

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
By swapping ram, do you me slots?

Not sure on the win7 memtest, but d/l and run memtest boot cd and try it.

Also try atitools artifact scanner. It'll load just the gpu.
You can find the Memtest here Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool. Also as patonb asked above ^, have you tried switching RAM as in slots? Also when you run the memtest, have you tried running it while 1 stick of RAM is in place; checking each individually?

Also is your PC heated, may be an overheating issue. Download Speedfan, Download SpeedFan - Access temperature sensor in your computer, and check the temperature of your CPU and HDD.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 07:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
matt123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 119
Default Re: I think it's my vid card...

are you try to remove the video card and then play any video.
what happened?
i think it possible to happen video card cable may be loosed.
as above member suggest you check temp of CPU and post it.
__________________
One Machine can do the work of 50 ordinary men.
But no machine can do the work of one extraordinary man.
---Elbert Hubbard
matt123 is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 07:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: I think it's my vid card...

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt123 View Post
are you try to remove the video card and then play any video.
what happened?
i think it possible to happen video card cable may be loosed.
as above member suggest you check temp of CPU and post it.
Don't think there's an integrated vid card for his motherboard, but if you meant taking out and putting it back in, making sure it's not loose then yeah he should try it.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
getting a new vid card Squirtis New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-11-2009 07:18 PM
Returns to Newegg (vid card) asudmr System Upgrades 7 05-22-2008 08:37 PM
Trouble deciding on vid card.. monagi New Systems | Building and Buying 23 01-29-2008 11:59 AM
PCI Vid card SirCyber System Upgrades 3 10-20-2007 01:27 AM
Vid Card Requirements Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 12 10-16-2007 02:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.