I think its dead - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2006, 05:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Unhappy I think its dead

A couple weeks ago I posted about my computer restarting itself 30 seconds after bootup. Well, now it won't even turn on. The day before I checked the CPU and system temps and they were both around 53C. I know its not the power supply because I tested a different one and got the same results. The only response I get is if I turn off the power supply, after 10 seconds turn it back on, and the fans will spin a couple times but that is ALL. My guess is it's the mobo or processor but I'm not sure which. Is there any way to tell? Am I screwed?
__________________

hadleman is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 05:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

have u got your RAM checked as well? though CPU's arent they delicately manufactured that to consider them a reason for fault for first time. if you are in doubt of both,then consider Motherboard first. also, which CPU are you using? if its AMD (non 64-bit), then possibility could be thermal death. else all others not applicable
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Default

I didn't have a chance to check the RAM before it died. My processor is an AMD Athlon XP 1800+ on a Gigabyte GA-7VRXP mobo.
hadleman is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 10:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to samuraiwarrior
Default

make sure its not shorting out anywhere.
try setting it all up ontop a not static surface.
and check the mobo screws so the space screws are installed properly
so its not shorting anywhere
samuraiwarrior is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 04:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Everything is spaced properly; the mobo isn't touching the case. Still no results.
hadleman is offline  
Old 09-06-2006, 08:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 77
Default

1) Remove/unplug everything except things that are necessary for booting: cpu,ram,video,mobo. That means remove audio/modem/network/usb/hdd/fdd/cd/...
2) remove the battery and short-circuit it's pins on the mobo (because there might be capacitors holding energy.
3) Waint 30min
4) Put battey back, If it starts, continue adding your hardware one by one untill you find a problem. If not - you have a problem in either mobo(most likely)/cpu/ram/video.
__________________

junglemike is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.