I think I killed my processor... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2009, 04:53 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Druid View Post
Are you sure your secondary power connector is in securely? I had the same thing with you where you can't turn off the pc with the power button. It was because I dumbly only connected the main plug to the mobo and didn't have the other one in.
Yep, everything is connected properly. If I take the CPU out, I can use the power button to turn the PC off...
__________________

Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 05:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

do you have another machine to test out the CPU?
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 12:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post
do you have another machine to test out the CPU?
Nope.
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 02:03 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Take a pic of your cpu pins... just so we can seem them...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 03:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles_scott View Post
Take a pic of your cpu pins... just so we can seem them...
Here you go:

Flickr: matt90ca's Photostream
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 03:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

have you looked at the mobo very carefully and make sure you didn't blow a resistor, or bend something in your process of cleaning? I'll be honest, without being there or re-creating the problem... I'm at a lose in this end. Sorry, man... You done everything that I would do short of rebuilding.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 04:49 PM   #17 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt08642 View Post
I have made sure the PSU connections are all there.

I normally never take out the CPU during the cleaning, but this time it came out with the heatsink (the thermal paste acted as a glue, lol)
yep, that happens from time to time, and by re-inserting the cpu with out changing the lock to unlock and then relock.. and then fireing it up may have damaged the CPu and or MB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt08642 View Post

I removed it for a minute and it didn't do a thing, but I'll leave it out for 10 minutes or so, just to make sure.

Nope, nothing...
Removing the battery does not always reset your Cmos, please read through your MB manual to "Flash the Bios" this is usually a 3 pin close to your battery that when jumpered from the pin 1 and 2 to 2 and 3 will flash your Bios.. but please consult your MB manual for the exact method for your board.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt08642 View Post

Oh my God, I think I have been putting in the CPU incorrectly this whole time.

The bar pictured in this photo: http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f9...IMG_0574-1.png

was DOWN the WHOLE TIME. after putting the CPU in while the bar was in the down position, I had to jam the heatsink on, and then I turned the computer on...

Do you think that by doing this, I ruined the CPU? This would certainly explain why the CPU was coming out so easily...
please refer to my reply above
__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 05:18 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Take a picture of your entire mobo. We may be able to spot something.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 10:27 PM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Atech66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N Ohio
Posts: 196
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

did you say you were forcing the cpu in the socket this whole time without ever unlocking the bar to put it in ?
just making sure i understood correctly.
ya the main 20/24 connector you have to plug in the soft power connector in also.
if it was not seated in the holes and you had to reef on the sink to get it locked down
it deff may have damaged it.
but make sure you check the socket also closely and it was not damaged before you get another cpu.
__________________
http://www.forum-signatures.com/wiza...3454627674.gif

Core i7 920, MSI X58 Plat. SLI, 6 Gigs Mushkin 1333,
Corsair TX750, Samsung Sata 2 500, VISTA 64 :cool:

UNIVAC: a device, which contained 20,000 vacuum tubes, occupied 1,500 square feet and weighed 40 tons; there was also a laptop version weighing 27 tons.
Atech66 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 10:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 22
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

now i might be wrong but from the pictures that i looked at of your processor it looks as if in the second picture a pin in the top left corner looks bent. if it is its probably your issue.
__________________

Ab0mbs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TF's Iron Man 2 Thread Iron Feet Off Topic Discussion 80 05-22-2010 07:19 PM
Processor and graphics question, for buying laptop? Joecoolwashere Laptops and Notebooks 8 02-10-2009 02:07 PM
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 08:04 PM
Which processor to go with? CBerger New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-24-2008 01:56 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.