I think I killed my processor... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2009, 12:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default I think I killed my processor...

I was doing one of my normal case cleanings, which involve taking out EVERYTHING and dusting all the parts, etc.

When I put everything back together, my computer won't boot. It turns on, then the fans just spin at full speed. i can't even turn it off with the button on the front, I have to turn off the PSU.

I was taking out parts and trying it without them, and no change until i took out the CPU and started the computer. When the CPU is removed, the computer beeps, and I am able to turn it off normally. When the CPU is in, nothing.

Is this a sure sign that I have somehow broken my CPU?

Specs:

AMD Athlon 64 3500+
Nvidia GeForce 8600GT
1GB DDR400 RAM
200GB HDD
__________________

Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 12:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

reseat your ram, cpu (again) and your GPU... have your reset your CMOS as well?
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 12:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post
reseat your ram, cpu (again) and your GPU... have your reset your CMOS as well?
I um... I don't know what CMOS is...

I have re-seated my CPU countless times, and still nothing.
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

the battery on your mobo is what saves your bios settings. Remove that for a few minutes and it will reset your CMOS. (Your bios settings in a nut shell) have you also made sure that you have all lyour PSU connections in place and secure?
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 12:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nukem View Post
the battery on your mobo is what saves your bios settings. Remove that for a few minutes and it will reset your CMOS. (Your bios settings in a nut shell) have you also made sure that you have all lyour PSU connections in place and secure?
I have made sure the PSU connections are all there.

I normally never take out the CPU during the cleaning, but this time it came out with the heatsink (the thermal paste acted as a glue, lol)

I'll try this and report back

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt08642 View Post
I have made sure the PSU connections are all there.

I normally never take out the CPU during the cleaning, but this time it came out with the heatsink (the thermal paste acted as a glue, lol)

I'll try this and report back
I removed it for a minute and it didn't do a thing, but I'll leave it out for 10 minutes or so, just to make sure.

Nope, nothing...

Any other suggestions? The hard drive activity light doesn't do anything when the CPU is in place.

Oh my God, I think I have been putting in the CPU incorrectly this whole time.

The bar pictured in this photo: http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f9...IMG_0574-1.png

was DOWN the WHOLE TIME. after putting the CPU in while the bar was in the down position, I had to jam the heatsink on, and then I turned the computer on...

Do you think that by doing this, I ruined the CPU? This would certainly explain why the CPU was coming out so easily...
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 02:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Are any of the pins bent?

How to Fix Bent Pins on a CPU - wikiHow
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 03:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
Are any of the pins bent?

How to Fix Bent Pins on a CPU - wikiHow
Nope, none of them are bent. I think I just ruined the CPU by turning the computer on while it was in incorrectly. I found a 1.8GHz S939 CPU on Craigslist for $20, I think I'll get it and take my chances.
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 03:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

The way the pins are you cannot put the cpu in the socket incorrectly and have the pins go down into the socket. For future reference see the white cornor on the motherboard, There is a corosponding corner on the cpu to ensure you are putting it in in the correct orientation.

Have you pulled the bar up, inseted the cpu properly put down the bar and put the heatsink on since these problems arose?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 03:30 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
The way the pins are you cannot put the cpu in the socket incorrectly and have the pins go down into the socket. For future reference see the white cornor on the motherboard, There is a corosponding corner on the cpu to ensure you are putting it in in the correct orientation.

Have you pulled the bar up, inseted the cpu properly put down the bar and put the heatsink on since these problems arose?
Yes, I tried that, still nothing.
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 03:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: I think I killed my processor...

Are you sure your secondary power connector is in securely? I had the same thing with you where you can't turn off the pc with the power button. It was because I dumbly only connected the main plug to the mobo and didn't have the other one in.
__________________

Druid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TF's Iron Man 2 Thread Iron Feet Off Topic Discussion 80 05-22-2010 07:19 PM
Processor and graphics question, for buying laptop? Joecoolwashere Laptops and Notebooks 8 02-10-2009 02:07 PM
April 20 Price Drop? dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 45 04-23-2008 08:04 PM
Which processor to go with? CBerger New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-24-2008 01:56 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.