I think I have a hardware issue! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2009, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default I think I have a hardware issue!

Hello..

I have run into an issue with my main desktop, I use it for gaming and personal work (office, Adobe, etc.). I built the box a couple of years ago and don't remember all the stats on it, but it is something close to as follows: AMD 2800, 2 gigs RAM, ATI RAdeon 256MB.

At any rate, the computer started freezing up on me some months back. It would simply just freeze at any random point. I could restart and everything was normal. As time went by, the freezes happened more often, and it started happening such that I would have to reboot two or three times to get back into windows (using XP). Eventually it got pretty bad where I would reboot and it would not boot, but after a couple more power cycles it would boot again. Some short time ago, I got to the point where I can no longer get into windows. The computer now freezes anywhere from the RAM check stage or later and sometimes gets to start booting windows and freezes when windows is booting. To try and reboot takes sometimes 2-10 power cycles to get into the BIOS even.

I opened the case and found my case fan was no longer working and am in the process of replacing it - however, when I do get into the BIOS, the computer appears to be running at a reasonable temp and the heatsink fan is still running just fine. The video card fan is running just fine as well.

Any ideas/help would be great. I have a nagging feeling that replacing the simple case fan is not going to solve my woes.

Thanks.
__________________

jdawg12 is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 10:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I think I have a hardware issue!

Yha case fans very unlikely, but possible.. Could allow heat build up.

Could very well be the power supply. Yhou'd need a digital Multimeter DMM, to check you Volts and Amps of it though.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 11:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: I think I have a hardware issue!

or it could be bad ram, or a unstable overclock.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Syria
Posts: 147
Send a message via Yahoo to alaa_ecv_tc
Default Re: I think I have a hardware issue!

it is a cpu fan problem ... or the fan that brings air to the heatsink .
alaa_ecv_tc is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: I think I have a hardware issue!

Quote:
Originally Posted by alaa_ecv_tc View Post
it is a cpu fan problem ... or the fan that brings air to the heatsink .
How do you figure...?
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I think I have a hardware issue!

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
How do you figure...?
I think he meant

Is it a..........
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: I think I have a hardware issue!

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
I think he meant

Is it a..........
Somehow, I don't think so, because the OP already said his CPU fan was working fine.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Syria
Posts: 147
Send a message via Yahoo to alaa_ecv_tc
Default Re: I think I have a hardware issue!

sorry .. hihi ..
I ment that replacing the fan will remove the problem :P ...
this problem must be because the cpu temp is too high !

& looks like the cpu temp is getting higher every time .. when the computer freezes the cpu temp starts to decrease .. but it will not unfreeze until restarting ..

you can check the heatsink once the computer freezes to make sure the cpu temp is not too high !


sorry for my bad English .. & sorry for the missunderstanding
alaa_ecv_tc is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 01:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: I think I have a hardware issue!

I understand what you meant, but how will that fix his problem? What do you use to back this claim up? Especially since the CPU fan is the one that is still working?
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 08-25-2009, 10:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: I think I have a hardware issue!

Sorry but the CPU Temp is not the issue. If the CPU temp was to high and it was the issue, it would not let them restart the PC right away as it would still be to hot to use and it would need to cool down for a period of time first before the PC could be used again.

It is not a problem with the CPU Fan at all. Not to mention he already said they work....

I agree with paton and phil that RAM or PSU are the issue.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to troubleshoot specific STOP Errors KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 15 05-20-2009 03:22 PM
Audio hardware acceleration? AntonOle Computer Audio and Multimedia 18 11-18-2008 03:55 AM
Crysis 1.2 patch dario03 PC Gaming 34 08-29-2008 02:42 AM
server vs pc hardware ChrisX New Systems | Building and Buying 17 04-23-2008 03:34 PM
Video not working - Hardware issue TorQueMoD Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-02-2007 04:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.