I startup my computer and nothing appears on screen... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2007, 03:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Unhappy I startup my computer and nothing appears on screen...

Hi all I've been having a problem with my media center PC...It is an HP Pavilion PC and it seems to be having a major problem....I recently upgraded my graphics card from an ATI Radeon X300 to an Nvidia Geforce 6600 GT.....the transition went with no incident...but after almost a year of use one morning I pressed the power button on my PC to regularly boot it up to Windows and there was nothing but a black screen showing up on my monitor.....I can hear the fan spin and power is indeed on but my keyboard numlock light isn't showing as well as the lights on the back of the computer...its actually my brother's computer and he told me he took it to best buy to get it checked out but all they said was that there was nothing wrong with it and that it is just missing a graphics card....that is clearly not the problem since I already removed the card and installed it in my PC to troubleshoot...the card works fine on the other PC...so its clearly not an issue with the videocard right?....now this all happened actually about 2 months ago and the computer has been sitting at home for that amount of time...one day I tried pluggin it up again and installed the Nvidia graphics card and voila!...it runs again without a hitch.....for about a week but then to my dismay it happened again....thats why I'm here.... ....any amount of help will be greatly appreciated.


Edit: I'm sorry I forgot to mention this but this all occured after we moved....I should have pointed that out earlier.
__________________

GeminEye2k5 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 03:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

First I'd remove and reseat the ram, or try em one at a time to rule out a bad stick. Then I'd try the PSU.
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 03:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

Thank you I'm gonna have to try that as soon as I get off of work.
GeminEye2k5 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 04:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

Do you have another monitor to try? I would say either the monitor is dying or your card is overheating.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 04:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

does the computer have integrated graphics? If so, the computer may be switching back to that for some reason. Try plugging the monitor into the integrated graphics port and see if it works.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 05:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

The monitor I used for it is in use currently on another PC I have and it works fine (no probems what so ever)...I doubt it has anything to do with overheating because I've been using the 6600 GT in my other PC and haven't had any problems with heat period.

The computer doesn't have integrated graphics: the original card that came with the computer was an X300 SE which I upgraded from as I've said in my post.

I already tried installing the original card (X300 SE) and it still won't boot up.

Thank you for the suggestions.

I still have yet to try testing out the RAM to see if one of the sticks are faulty. I pray to god that that could be the only problem as it would be easy to buy another stick and get on with life ^_^
GeminEye2k5 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 06:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

when you first turn the computer does the BIOS come up on the screen? How about the windows loading screen? If so, that would seem to indicate a driver problem.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 06:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

nothing comes up....no BIOS, no Windows loading Screen.

When the problem started up again I was in-game and the computer just completely shut-off.... I waited about 30 seconds and pressed the power button and you can hear the cooling fan spin-up and power-supply but nothing else.

If it were a driver problem all I would have to do is update the drivers right? But how can I do that when I can't even log-in to Windows?
GeminEye2k5 is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 146
Default

It's not a driver issue, You're PC's not even getting that far.

When the issue occurs is your PC beeping at all?

Your PC is failing during whats called the POST, Which is where it first starts up the very basics you PC needs to run. If it made it past POST you'd get keyboard lights.

This means either your memory, Processors, motherboard or video card is bad. We've managed to rule out Video card by testing it in another computer.

Processors actually go defective only very rarely unless you overclock em. it COULD be the proc, but I highly doubt it.

Try reseating the memory, or even better, testing it in another PC, or with a stick of memory you KNOW is good.

If it's not the memory, I'd honestly look into replacing the mobo, because well... those bastages go bad quite often.

You can't rule out overheat because the Graphics Card worked in another PC, because any number of parts can overheat, but I'd rule it out because it doesn't take a "Week" for the PC to cool..

Also I'm ruling out the PSU because I've never seen one have intermittent issues like this PC is.

And don't take it to best buy or Frye's, they'll hire any idiot to be tech, trust me on that one. You take it to a tech, take it to something small and local, they usually have guys who know what they are doing.
__________________
http://www.geocities.com/signature_s...dphxnoedge.jpg
System: Athlon 64 X2 3800+
EVGA Geforce 8600 GTS 256mb PCIE
ECS (pile of crap) Mobo
1.5 GB Corsair PC3200
Soundblaster Audigy Pro
Windows XP Pro, Lemming Optimized.
ShackledPhoenix is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 07:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 14
Default

if its a Processor or mobo issue thats gonna definitely suck for me....I think I'm out of a warranty also .....I'm feeling impending doom.
__________________

GeminEye2k5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.