I spent $200 to break my computer! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2007, 06:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

jfwalls, whenever I get this problem its coz the cpu has died on me. No beeps from the mobo, but everything powers on. and no signal. In which case, I hope ur cpu was under warranty.

veedubfreak, u probably wont believe this, but aparently it could be ur keyboard. I googled ur problem, and that's the only answer that actually worked for all other users. The other thing ur problem was put down to was mobo failure. so it sounds like it IS a good idea to rma the board.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 01:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

Ya i left the cmos battery out from lunch until i got home from work and got the same issue. I'm going to call evga at lunch today and see about doing an rma+trade to get the 780i rather than rma then trade up on the 780i. I'll probably end up buying a cheap mobo from microcenter on my way home just to get back up and running until this crap gets sorted out. 30 day return policy wewt.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-19-2007, 05:08 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

i bought a ton of stuff for my computer, acutally it was basically a new computer. i got a new mobo, video card, precessor, Memory to go with the new MoBo, and i installed it all what i thought was correctly. and everytime i started it up, i got all the sounds of the computer, the fans spinning, HDD working, and so fourth, but no signal. as it turns out, i had to take it in and pay $80 for a freaking diagnostic. which i absolutely hate. why am i paying people to tell me whats wrong with it. but yeah, anyways, i guess i did not have the screws on the MoBo in correctly and/or missing screws. so the board probably wasn't grounded correctly. so i would double check those. make sure every screw hole is filled and connecting to the case.
__________________

rhode2nowere is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying Computer, Please Help Slave2Society7 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-06-2007 12:50 AM
computer hang on some installations?? mouse moves BlkShdw88 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 07-04-2007 06:07 AM
Advice on Purchasing Computer - XPS 710 or what Parts Ragnos New Systems | Building and Buying 41 06-03-2007 05:15 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.