I spent $200 to break my computer! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2007, 06:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
Default I spent $200 to break my computer!

Okay, after a year of waiting I finally got a Thermaltake Armor series full tower. Oh it's so beatiful, and so big!

So I proceeded to remove everything from my old cramped, under ventilated case, and put it all in the new one. Something I regret at this minute because everything worked in there. I thoroughly cleaned all the parts, put some new Arctic Silver 5 on my processor, and carefully re-installed everything in the new case. Oh yeah, don't forget my new sata DVD-r with lightscribe technology.

I push the power button and am dazzled by the christmasy glow of all the blue led lit fans. I glance up at my monitor, and I see nothing. To my horror I see exactly what I had hoped wouldn't be there, "no signal". Oh the humanity. So I proceed to check all my connections. I make sure the jumper settings on my HD are correct. Everything is as it should be, yet nothing happens.

I hear the HD spin up, and I hear the whir of the new DVD-r drive, the processor fan, and the blue lights all go, but nothing happens. Not even the beep of an error code!

I have no way of swapping out any hardware to pinpoint the problem, but I'm leaning towards the MB right now seeing as how I get no beeps or anything. Everything gets power, but it just sits there idle after it starts. I re-installed everything back in the old case just the way it was, and nothing. I put it all back in the new case again, and nothing. I re-installed all the components and nothing. I reset the cmos, and nothing.

I gotta figure it out and order the parts soon. By tonight if possible, so any quick tips or advice will help. Even just a few "Yes, it's your MB." will encourage me to order a replacement.

Thanks ahead!
__________________

jfwalls is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

Take out the CMOS battery, wait 10 minutes, and put it back it to reset the CMOS.
CPU and video cards power plugs are in?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

Did that, and my cpu and vid card don't have seperate power cords.
jfwalls is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 07:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LeftEyeBlind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: America
Posts: 482
Send a message via MSN to LeftEyeBlind
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

That happens to me when my ram is loose.
__________________
PROJECT WOLFDALE<br><br>GIGABTE GA-P35-DS3L (Rev. 2)<br><br>Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 "Wolfdale" 3.66Ghz<br><br>2X512MB Patriot Extreme - 1X1GB Mushkin<br><br>BFG 8800GT OC<br><br>Antec Nine Hundred
LeftEyeBlind is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

I'm in the same boat dude. My board wont finish posting now. I get error code 7f on the board, and of course the manual is no help. I'm guessing it is a video issue.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 05:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

you guys can always send your rigs to me, post paid bot ways and I'll fiddle with them for free...no gaurantees!

check your cpu mounting
and seriously check your mobo mounting as well

I think the mobo is mismounted
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 05:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

check if the board is touching the Back of the Case (the side panel) that may cause shorting so check for that, try a CMOS Battery Removal, Faulty RAM Stick?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 06:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

I have my cmos battery out on mine right now, if it still doesnt boot when i get home im pulling EVERYTHING out of the case and starting from scratch, then if that doesnt work, its time to RMA the board.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 06:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

RMA it anyways, you can get a better new shiny board anywaysq
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 06:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: I spent $200 to break my computer!

At least Evga has the cross shipping free with their 680i boards so it wont cost me to rma.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buying Computer, Please Help Slave2Society7 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-06-2007 12:50 AM
computer hang on some installations?? mouse moves BlkShdw88 Microsoft Windows and Software 7 07-04-2007 06:07 AM
Advice on Purchasing Computer - XPS 710 or what Parts Ragnos New Systems | Building and Buying 41 06-03-2007 05:15 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.