I REALLY need some input!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2009, 07:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default I REALLY need some input!!

I've just moved everything from my old case into my new HAF, and now nothing turns on?!

When I plug in the power all the mobo lights go on, but when I press the power button (whether that be the case power button OR the onboard mobo power button) absolutely NOTHING happens. No beeps, no fan movement, no hdd sounds.

I've reset the BIOS to no avail, checked that the psu is firmly plugged into the mobo (8 pin power + 24 pin)


Ideas plz?
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: I REALLY need some input!!

Well #1, make sure the power and reset buttons are connected properly!

How are your fans plugged in? If its direct to PSU, you could unplug the MOBO power plugs, and short the power on pin to a ground pin and see if the fans spin up... and therefore if your PSU is working...

Given the light(s? there is more than one?) comes on, it sounds like your mobo isn't telling the PSU to turn on... which could be mobo, it could just be the switch!
__________________

Andyf is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: I REALLY need some input!!

I've got an Asus P6T, it's got onboard 'Power' and 'Reset' buttons. Both of those light up but don't work, so I'm fairly confident the problem isn't with any connections between the buttons and the mobo.

I'll give your other suggestions a shot. thanks!
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 08:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: I REALLY need some input!!

Double check all your connections. Make sure all your stand-offs are positioned properly and your not grounding out. Are you using a floppy disk drive? The Power connector is easy to misalign.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 08:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: I REALLY need some input!!

I've just taken the mobo completely out of the case, disconnected everything. Then I plugged in the power cords and switched the psu on. Same thing still happens.

This is really weird, as pressing the power button really does nothing. It doesn't even drain residual charge from the system.

edit: just tested the psu by connecting the power and ground pins. Plugged in all 4 fans the HAF comes with, two sata hdd's and a dvdrw drive. The fans spin up, the hdd's make all the right sounds. what now? make good on my mobo warranty?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 05:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: I REALLY need some input!!

right the next thing would be to connect your MOBO up and manually short the 'power switch' pins together for a second or so... I just touch a phillips screwdriver between the pins. These are the pins on your mobo that connect up to the power switch on your case.

If that isn't working... dunno perhaps RMA..
Andyf is offline  
Old 09-05-2009, 10:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I REALLY need some input!!

^His board has hard wired switches. He doesn't need to jumper it.

I'd double reseat your RAM, and gpu. But you probably already have.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-06-2009, 12:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,663
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: I REALLY need some input!!

Yar I have, did my HS and cpu as well as the ram and gpu, no dice. I'm sending it on monday to get replaced. ****! I was all set up to start Bioshock and Oblivion too
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dasher Offers An Alternative Text Input Method Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-27-2009 09:00 AM
Input on My build Please Eayes New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-13-2009 03:06 PM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
Video Input donaldj Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-05-2007 05:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.