I need help configuring my router... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2006, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Alkaiser2500 Send a message via Yahoo to Alkaiser2500
Default I need help configuring my router...

Getting straight to the point, I need help configuring my Netopia Cayman 3346 for online play.

I have a 1.5 mbps (153 kb/s) connection and everytime I try to play a PC game online I get disconnected right on the spot.

I don't get disconnected from the lobbies.

I have the both the tcp and udp ports forwarded for my online pc games but it doesn't help.

My operating system is Windows XP Home Editon Service Pack 2 with the firewall disabled.

I made sure no firewalls were on.

I don't know what I'm supposed to tweak or change in this router.

It is a NAT router and the firmware version is 7.5 0r1.

If there's anyway to disable NAT that would be great. I've heard that causes a lot of problems and I attempted to disable it in the past but was then unable to connect to the internet. It's driving me crazy.

Basically, all I want to know is what's the best settings for online play, what should be disabled, and what needs to be tweaked to improve my connection in this router.

I will try any changes / suggestions. Please, thank you.
__________________

Alkaiser2500 is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

well every router is different so i couldnt walk you through it. however a 1.5mbps connection is preatty low bandwidth for gaming that also could be part of the problem. try changing the router chanel aswell mabey some interference like a phone or microwave can make the connection quite sensitive.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

1.5mbp/s is 1500kbp/s
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 08:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

right but then thats a maximum download speed of 187 KB/s which is quite low.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 08:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 44
Send a message via AIM to Alkaiser2500 Send a message via Yahoo to Alkaiser2500
Default

But I know people who are using much slower connections and don't get disconnected...
Alkaiser2500 is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 08:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

hes also on a network sharing the bandwidth and we dont know what could be interfearing with the connection like a phone or microwave. he is more susepdable to disconnects.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.