I might have lost a whole hard drive, need help. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2009, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 77
Default I might have lost a whole hard drive, need help.

Alright so I got a new 500gb hdd today. My computer could read it in Device Manager, but not in My Computer, but eventually I figured out how to access it. I've been having problems with my computer and wanted to re format, so I backed up all my files onto my new hdd, and re installed windows.

But now my computer can't read the hard drive again. And the only way I know how is to format it, which would delete all the files. So is there anyway I can get my computer to read the hard drive again without wiping out my files. Or just any ways to get the files off the hdd?
__________________

NicktheQuik is offline  
Old 12-25-2009, 06:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,773
Default Re: I might have lost a whole hard drive, need help.

What OS are you using? If Windows then go to Disk Management; it should be there. You will probably have to give it a drive letter.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 12-25-2009, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 77
Default Re: I might have lost a whole hard drive, need help.

Windows XP. It's in Disk Management but it says it's "dynamic" or something. And the only way I can access it (as far as I know at least) is to format the drive, which would get rid of the data from my other re formatted hdd.


I think I found one solution. I use to use XP Pro, but now I'm using XP Home, and apparently Home can't read Dynamic hard drives, which for some reason is what mine is (I don't know if I made it that way or what). So if I re format again but with Pro, I guess I should be able to get to the hdd.

I'm hoping there's an easier/quicker solution then that though.
NicktheQuik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Satellite A305 (hard drive, Power?) pokernod Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 08-15-2009 12:10 AM
Hard Drive Health Monitoring Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 1 05-14-2009 10:21 AM
Hard Drive gone.... What the?!? Ethereal_Dragon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-11-2009 03:34 AM
bad hard drive but not bad hard drive? servo.tsc Microsoft Windows and Software 16 10-15-2008 10:11 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.