I just upgraded my system. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2006, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Kj°len's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Default I just upgraded my system.

My parents were using a 400MHz Pentium II Slot 1 CPU in their machine, and I just upgraded it to a 933MHz Pentium III via a socket 370 to slot 1 adapter. However, the BIOS recognizes it as a 500MHz Pentium Pro. CPU-z indicates that it indeed a Pentium III running at 700MHz with a bus speed of 100MHz and a multiplier of 7. So, my question is this: Is there any way I can change the bus speed to 133MHz to get the full 933MHz out of it? Or perhaps to accept the 256MB PC133 SDRAM? If you find a BIOS update for an Intel MP440BX motherboard, version 4M4PB0X1.15A.0018.P09, I would be greatly appreciative.
__________________

Kj°len is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 08:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

what type of computer is it? homebuild, prebuild(eg: dell, hp, compaq)

if homebuild, u can get a standard bios from the mobo manu site. if its a prebuild, then your sol, because they cant oc, unless you do a hardware overclock, eg: pinmodding, jumpers, dip-switches...that typpe of thing. need some more info first.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 08:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Kj°len's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 57
Default

You don't understand. The CPU is SUPPOSED to run at 933MHz with a bus speed of 133MHz. It's being limited to 100MHz, so therefore it's only running at 700Mhz. The board is an Intel, from a Gateway G6-400.
Kj°len is offline  
Old 11-15-2006, 08:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

ahh, gateway. let me do some research on the model

well, that motherboard chipset has a max speed of 100mhz, and min defualt is 66. so unless you can crank the multiplier up, i dont think you can get it up to full speed. so basically, the motherboard is already maxed out.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.