I hope you all can help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2009, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default I hope you all can help

I have a Gateway GT5464 desktop computer. Ever since i had the thing when you first start it up it would come to where it says gateway and then it would go black on the monitor screen the monitor would go to off and then 15 seconds it would show windows loading. I have had the computer for about a year and a half now. It was made in may 07 but i bought it new. 45 days after i got it the mother board went in it and i had to send it to gateway. They said that it taken a little while for it to start up was normal. Last night it took me an hour to get the computer to come on.

What happened is i would hit the power button the 2 fans on the mother board would start up. The power supply fan would run and then you would hear 5 clicks from the harddrive and then all you could hear was the fans. The monitor never even tried to turn on saying it had connection to the computer. Finaly after i took the power supply out cleaned it pluged it in i tried starting it up nothing. Then i swaped the ram around nothing. I then swaped the ram back and hit the power button and the pc turned on. I got it into windows then shut it off. Let it sit for a second then turned it back on boom it booted. Did it again boom it booted. Left it on all last night then turned it off for about an hour today and it wouldnt boot up again.

Im thinking its the power supply but gateway told me it was either the ram or the harddrive. I want some opionions. Heres the site to everything the pc has.
Gateway Support - Specifications


thanks for the help
donald
__________________

UKK_EvilElmo is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 07:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I HOPE YOU ALL CAN HELP

d/l memtest and run it to test the RAM for errors.

Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 07:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: I HOPE YOU ALL CAN HELP

Run MemTest86+ to test the RAM.

Memtest86 - Download Page

Download the ISO and use ImgBurn to burn the ISO as is.

Burning ISO Images with ImgBurn - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki

If it was the hard drive you would hear more than 5 clicks from it. It shouldnt take more than 3 minutes at most to boot. So it could be the PSU. I would look at getting at least a 400W or 450W PSU for the PC. 300W seems a bit low.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-06-2009, 07:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: I HOPE YOU ALL CAN HELP

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Run MemTest86+ to test the RAM.

Memtest86 - Download Page

Download the ISO and use ImgBurn to burn the ISO as is.

Burning ISO Images with ImgBurn - NeoSmart Technologies Wiki

If it was the hard drive you would hear more than 5 clicks from it. It shouldnt take more than 3 minutes at most to boot. So it could be the PSU. I would look at getting at least a 400W or 450W PSU for the PC. 300W seems a bit low.
Thanks im gonna proble pick up a power supply just to have was looken at a 400w pretty much i don't use the computer for nothen special so thats why its not fully upgraded. I really think its the power supply though cause the fans come on yes but you cant even get it to go to the gateway screen because it wont even power up the monitor
UKK_EvilElmo is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 07:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: I HOPE YOU ALL CAN HELP

I would replace the PSU, RAM, graphics card, in that order.

300w should be fine. (it came with 300w). But it doesn't hurt to buy a little higher (doesn't cost nothing).
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 11:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I hope you all can help

^Actually, with a 9800 level card, 300 won't work..
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 10-07-2009, 09:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: I hope you all can help

replaced the ram and then the power supply. Power comes on harddrive wont turn over and monitor wont even turn blue for 1 second even at first start up. Think mother board is gone for the second time so time i built my own. Thank you all though. Got a mother board comen and a new harddrive just incase. I should have built my own the first time but sent it in because it was under warrenty. What can i say won't ever buy a gateway again :-\
__________________

UKK_EvilElmo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quick question i hope hobbyenthusiast Web Graphics and Design 2 04-09-2009 01:20 PM
i hope its lapping time. Poizen22 Overclocking and Modding 4 05-28-2008 08:57 PM
OMG... I hope you guys can help... lost OS OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-31-2007 12:10 AM
hope someone can assist collateral Overclocking and Modding 6 09-15-2007 03:07 PM
Ordered hope everything is good denman1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 06-09-2007 11:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.