I hear a "doo daa", "doo daa", "doo daa" - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2006, 10:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default I hear a "doo daa", "doo daa", "doo daa"

My computer won't start after being turned off a couple of days ago. About 30 seconds after turning it on, I hear a "doo daa", "doo daa", "doo daa" coming from the unit. It sounds like an English police or ambulance. The monitor is on but stays black, and the pc won't turn off until the electrical current removed. I already changed the power supply and reseated the memory chips. I'm wondering if it is a m-b or cpu problem. I have an Intel P4 3.0 The m-b is MB-DFI PS35-BL P4-800/533 mhz. Thanks for any help you can provide.
__________________

moondogsb is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

what type of RAM are you using?
__________________

__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 12:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
MMH
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

i had that siren occurr a few days ago when i was helping my mother reformat her computer do to a virus.

It started the siren and then everything shut off.

the problem was the CPU fan failed and the processor reached the CPU warning temperature, which set off the alarm, then it reached the shut down temp wich, obviously, shut down the system before harm could be done.

open the case and turn on the system and see if its moving.. if not, make sure the CPU fan power line didn't just come loose.

with that kind of a siren, most likely the problem is around the CPU. if the fan is working fine, find another processor to test in the motherboard or have a local computer shop test your processor for you.
MMH is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 07:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Yes that alarm is just telling you that your CPU has hit the temperature which is configured in the CMOS to trigger the alarm.

check to see if your CPU fan is working and that your CPU heatsink is still in good contact with the cpu package.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 07:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

My friend's computer did that one day..the CPU fan wire got stuck in the blades. After we got it out, the fan was spinning insanely fast. I've never seen a computer fan spin that fast.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 07:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

if it isn't overheating then it is likely to be the motherboard. especially given that you say it won't shut off unless you pull the plug.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 08:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
if it isn't overheating then it is likely to be the motherboard. especially given that you say it won't shut off unless you pull the plug.
And he has no video anymore. Vote 2 for mobo
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 03:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Fan appears to be working great (the first thing I checked) and rebonded with silver stuff....no change. Should I just buy a new m-b or have it tested first? (i.e. cost to test and then buy a m-b vs just paying for a board)

Thanks!
moondogsb is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 06:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
MMH
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

call around... i have seen a couple of locally owned computer shops test processors and such for free.

everyone is gonna have different prices.. it may save you the cost of replacing a processor when it was your motherboard,, seeing that motherboards are cheaper.

or say you replace your motherboard only to find out that it was your CPU,,,, potentially you could end up double buying.
MMH is offline  
Old 05-13-2006, 02:15 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

I went to Fry’s to get a m-b and decided to upgrade. Along with the upgraded m-b, I had to upgrade the processor. The good news is the problem is solved. The bad news is I may never know for sure if it was the m-b or processor. Anyhow my wife is happy to have the pc back. I’ve been spending a lot of time at work and haven’t been able to take the time to work on this much. The new m-b is a ASUS P5RD1-Vm and the processor is a Pentium 4 630. I'm still a little spooked because it has rebooted twice since I got it up and running, which is only been about an hour. Thanks for all your replies and trying to help me. It is greatly appreciated! Tomorrow, I’ll try to figure out why it rebooting.
__________________

moondogsb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.