I have a strange problem with my system´s RAM. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2015, 01:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 8
Unhappy I have a strange problem with my system´s RAM.

Over a year ago, I built my own PC, with a 650 Euro budget. These are the specs.
Machine name: Al-PC
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.150113-1808)
Language: Spanish (Regional Setting: Spanish)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: To be filled by O.E.M.
BIOS: BIOS Date: 05/24/13 17:25:39 Ver: 04.06.05
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-6350 Six-Core Processor (6 CPUs), ~3.9GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4060MB RAM
Page File: 4191MB used, 3927MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)

Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce GTX 650
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0FC6&SUBSYS_8A961462&REV_A1
Display Memory: 3765 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1990 MB
Shared Memory: 1774 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: 22EN33


You may have already noticed my problem, but here it shows more clearly:Capture.PNG

As you can see, an enormous amount of my RAM is being cut for hardware use. This implies that I cannot use half of my RAM, which really bugs me, and I can´t make all the use I could out of my computer. I have looked all over the internet and I dont know or see anyone with the same problem as I, or as large as the one I´m having. I would be very grateful if some of you tech masters would give me a hand, and tell me what my problem is, and, hopefully, how to solve it.

BTW, I have got two 4GB RAM Kingston cards, both hyperX blu.

I will be pleased to give more information about my system to anyone that needs it.
Thanks, and I hope you can help me solve my problem
__________________

MrBongus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 05:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: I have a strange problem with my system´s RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBongus View Post
Over a year ago, I built my own PC, with a 650 Euro budget. These are the specs.
Machine name: Al-PC
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.150113-1808)
Language: Spanish (Regional Setting: Spanish)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
System Model: To be filled by O.E.M.
BIOS: BIOS Date: 05/24/13 17:25:39 Ver: 04.06.05
Processor: AMD FX(tm)-6350 Six-Core Processor (6 CPUs), ~3.9GHz
Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 4060MB RAM
Page File: 4191MB used, 3927MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows
DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
User DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)

Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce GTX 650
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0FC6&SUBSYS_8A961462&REV_A1
Display Memory: 3765 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1990 MB
Shared Memory: 1774 MB
Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
Monitor Model: 22EN33


You may have already noticed my problem, but here it shows more clearly:Attachment 6991
View how much memory your computer is using
Open up task mananger and screenshot the performance tab.
In all my years of using windows I haven't seen any hardware use up all the memory.
That problem you have would fall back on the programs you use and if their active.
Also screenshot the processes tab so we can get a better look at whats really going on.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 06:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 8
Default Re: I have a strange problem with my system´s RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by -RockMan- View Post
View how much memory your computer is using
Open up task mananger and screenshot the performance tab.
In all my years of using windows I haven't seen any hardware use up all the memory.
That problem you have would fall back on the programs you use and if their active.
Also screenshot the processes tab so we can get a better look at whats really going on.
Here is what you asked for: Capture1.PNG
Capture2.jpg
MrBongus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2015, 06:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: I have a strange problem with my system´s RAM.

What model is your motherboard?

Could possibly need a BIOS update. Does BIOS recognize all 8GB in the info screen?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 05:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 8
Default Re: I have a strange problem with my system´s RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
What model is your motherboard?

Could possibly need a BIOS update. Does BIOS recognize all 8GB in the info screen?
My motherboard is a Gigabyte UEFI DualBios, and yes, my BIOS does recognise all of my memory.
IMG_20150221_110059 (1).jpg
MrBongus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 10:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Awkward moment when...
 
Gabis1207's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 252
Default Re: I have a strange problem with my system´s RAM.

Based on the solution to a similar issue on TomsHardware, your motherboard might not be compatible with your HyperX cards.
What is your motherboard's model number? (Ex: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK)
__________________
Knowledge is knowing that a tomato is a fruit.
Wisdom is knowing not to put one in a fruit salad.

Professional slacker and an expert procrastinator (16 years experience) with a Ph.D in sarcasm.
Gabis1207 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 11:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 8
Default Re: I have a strange problem with my system´s RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabis1207 View Post
Based on the solution to a similar issue on TomsHardware, your motherboard might not be compatible with your HyperX cards.
What is your motherboard's model number? (Ex: Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK)
My motherboard´s model number is 970A-D3P
MrBongus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: I have a strange problem with my system´s RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBongus View Post
My motherboard´s model number is 970A-D3P
Is it a revision 1.0 or 2.0? You'll have to physically look at the board, usually in one of the corners of the board for "rev 1.0" or "rev 2.0".

What BIOS version are you currently on? It should show the version on boot and/or in the BIOS config pages.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 03:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post

Is it a revision 1.0 or 2.0? You'll have to physically look at the board, usually in one of the corners of the board for "rev 1.0" or "rev 2.0".

What BIOS version are you currently on? It should show the version on boot and/or in the BIOS config pages.
It is at revision 1.0, and the bios version is is F3
MrBongus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2015, 03:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: I have a strange problem with my system´s RAM.

The update notes for BIOS version F5 makes note of DRAM compatibility. I'd recommend trying to update your BIOS to version F5.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange power related problem, Monitor turning off when moved and doing strange things. holmes321 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 06-05-2012 08:00 AM
Have a strange problem with wired internet (through mains) Cyberman128 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 01-30-2012 08:38 AM
Friend says there is something strange that Windows 7 can do something strange... Yerfdog Microsoft Windows and Software 6 09-27-2010 10:59 AM
I have a Strange problem edteach Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 08-21-2008 05:19 PM
I have an extremely strange problem saltynay Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 06-06-2007 09:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.