I have some problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2007, 09:16 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: I have some problems

u have to go into ur bios and make sure it says boot from cd not hard drive
__________________

jay_bo is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:36 AM   #12 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default Re: I have some problems

yer i know that but which option do u chose in the setup to save your current files and reinstall windows over the old installation of windows?
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:45 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: I have some problems

you dont need to save any files they just repair them you wont lose any document or programs if thts wt your worrying about i have had to do loads of windows repairs before and i have never lost files they just repair them so ther will be no corrupted 1s
jay_bo is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default Re: I have some problems

I mean when i go into the setup i can choose to install windows or repair windows, i choose install then ther is 1 partition which is 230gb which has my stuff, i forgot how to install windows over that partition. Can you tell me the steps or somthing.
__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 09:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: I have some problems

oryt y are u installing should be repairing or you will lose everythin
all u need to do is press "r" to repair and choose your partiton u might not need to choose not sure cant remember. if u need more help just say but reply click as i need to take dog on walk before work
jay_bo is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 10:06 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: I have some problems

will u do me a favour and go Qunu | Live help when you need it most and type in html in the search for the problem and click on jay_bo thats me i can give you instant help
jay_bo is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 02:35 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 78
Send a message via AIM to hiren
Default Re: I have some problems

if you repair the window probably it wouldn't do that. Put your windows cd boot the computer after pressing F8 just repair the window instead of doing reinstallation.

so it will repair all the files in your present windows directory. There is less possiblilty of hard disk problem as you said you buy new one a month ago. Probably you might have some virus or malware. it is advisable to have a good antivirus and antispyware on your system

Good luck
hiren is offline  
Old 06-22-2007, 09:51 AM   #18 (permalink)
[$m] Steele Muffins
 
<[MaTT]>'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 466
Default Re: I have some problems

Ok, what happened is before i could read the recent posts on this thread, i fixed my old 200gb and installed windows on that. Once i got that working i put my 250gb (it has all my stuff) hardrive in as a secondary hardrive, i tryed to open it, it didnt work, i think it said could not read image or somthing. I hadent backed up my pics and movies so i need that hardrive working so im wondering if there is some software to help retrieve stuff off the 250gb or should i try and repair it by booting off the comp with windows cd (which is what you guys have been recommending), or should i take it to a shop and pay to get them to get stuff off it, then use the warranty to get a new hd.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://profile.xfire.com/sykomatt"><img src="http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/2/sykomatt.png" width="450" height="34" /></a>
<[MaTT]> is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multipule Problems smssoleimani Viruses, Spyware and Malware 14 06-11-2007 12:36 PM
Laptop will not fully boot and other problems! Help! LightingBird Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-03-2007 01:22 PM
Vista Problems FadingTheory Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-24-2007 06:55 AM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM
Some MacBooks May Have Battery Problems Osiris Apple and Mac 0 04-27-2007 05:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.