I have a RAM problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2008, 04:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default I have a RAM problem

I've got 2 gigs of G.Skill RAM in my computer right now. When I ordered all the parts for the 'puter, I had ordered a extra gig of RAM, which was never used. I tried putting it in the computer again last night, but all it does is cause occasional BSODs. (I put it in before with the same problem, but never followed up on the BSODs or found out the problem) I know it is the RAM, because the computer never blue screens any other times.

I thought maybe it was a bad stick, so I ran memtest on the extra stick last night, but it passed. I have tried it in each of the remaining memory slots, to no avail. I don't know what's up with this, any ideas?
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 04:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: I have a RAM problem

does the same thing switching around slots? may have to adjust ram settings in bios manually
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: I have a RAM problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
does the same thing switching around slots? may have to adjust ram settings in bios manually
Yes, it does the same thing. What RAM settings would I need to change?
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 06:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: I have a RAM problem

i'm not sure of course...but if:

example:
Timing 5-5-5-15
Cas Latency 5

is actually different on the ram, adjust to "auto" I'm just going by what my intel says. That way it can adjust if it's different. But I'm assuming all your ram would be the same brand/spec...if so, still see if there is an "auto" setting for it
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-23-2008, 07:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: I have a RAM problem

The RAM is the same brand, same specs,ect. I did tighten the timings down to 4-4-4-12 though. I'll set them back at 5-5-5-15 and see if it works.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns·G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ram problem phisher Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 01-25-2008 02:04 PM
Overclocking Ram problem Higach Overclocking and Modding 1 01-05-2008 02:06 AM
Ram clock problem Dakaggo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-30-2007 04:32 PM
Weird Problem - Maybe RAM freeze? pc_boy Microsoft Windows and Software 9 11-05-2007 08:19 AM
Problem with MB and/or RAM? vpx_rodder Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-24-2007 11:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.