I have NO clue what is going on with it. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2008, 11:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: I have NO clue what is going on with it.

just got off the phone with my uncle, he says that there is a nasty bug going around that has similar symptoms as mine (it appears that everything is working but no monitor signal or anything/monitor sticks on standby) he said first thing to try would be to try a new video card....tried that, didnt work, same stuff, then if that dont work id have to flash the bios and such, before doing this, has anyone else heard of this, my uncle's friend got it, his dad got it, and at circuit city they have 2 boxes there that have it, the tech at circuit city had no clue what was going on and was trying various things, my uncle has put more then 10 hours of work trying to figure it out, it is apparently a very sneaky bug, getting past full hard drive wipes, sitcks in the bios or something.


again, anyone hear of this?thanks.
__________________

RogueSeven is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 12:18 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: I have NO clue what is going on with it.

curiously, it is to my understanding that when there is no memory in a motherboard is makes a long beep...so for ****s and giggles i took out all my memory and i got no long beep. any idea what this could entitle? makes me a bit curious

ps: i would like to edit my previous posts but whenever i press edit it doesnt work so sorry about that.
__________________

RogueSeven is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 07:40 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: I have NO clue what is going on with it.

bump, anyone have an idea of what's wrong?
RogueSeven is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 07:48 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: I have NO clue what is going on with it.

The long beep means memory error. Definately replace your RAM, like if you have any spare lying around, or if you cn get some off your uncle.
The memory problem could also explain the boot problem. If the ram wasn't correctly seated, it sometimes does a 'no-monitor-or-anything-much' boot. Annoying, but luckily easy to fix.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 08:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: I have NO clue what is going on with it.

no, with memory in there is no beep, with the memory out there is no beep, shouldnt there be a beep without the memory in?


also, just to double check the foxconn 915 should support the pentium d right? it is 915A01-P-8EKRS2

regards.
RogueSeven is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:29 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: I have NO clue what is going on with it.

Do you have a spare pc you can test parts in? e.g. another pc to test your cpu, memory, and graphics card. It sounds like your mobo is fried. Test the parts mentioned above, and post back.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 150
Default Re: I have NO clue what is going on with it.

nah, waiting for my old mobo that should support pentium D come in from my uncle's
__________________

RogueSeven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.