I have a massive ram problem :-@ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2006, 03:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default I have a massive ram problem :-@

I baught this bunch of ram and it's mostly 512 meg, but when I put it in a pc it will post as only 31 meg per stick :-@. Ram is Aria and legend DDR266 256 meg and 512 meg all with same prob. please note this is not an imcompatability issue. PLEASE HELP ME!!!

Speed_Demon1989 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 05:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 40

What do you mean 'mostly'. iF THE manafacturer specified that its 512mb then you have a incompatability issue with ur mobo. RAM rarely displays the wrong amount on screen. Maybe by a few meg but not like in your case.

Post some more info. and ill do what i can to help.

asad1 is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 07:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

Download and run Memtest 86+ (direct link: http://www.memtest86.com/memtest86-3.2.iso.zip)
This will test your ram to see whether or not is is faulty in any way. If it shows errors the ram is bad, if not then it would appear that maybe it's just not compatible.
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 09:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
King X13's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13

yeah run memtest, and just to clear it up, i think he ment the mostly in that he has mostly 512 sticks and some are 256 megs.

and chances are if you bought a bunch of ram, im assuming some guy through like 10 sticks in a bag and sold it cheap cuz they all had issues lol.
King X13 is offline  
Old 08-03-2006, 08:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2

Yeh ok i'll run memtest, and yes they were thrown in with a bunch of other ram at an auction, but it would be good to see if this problem can be fixed.
Speed_Demon1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.