i have an erorr elp please! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2005, 09:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Default i have an erorr elp please!

a problem has detectedand windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer if this is the firs time youve seen this error screen, restart your computer if this appears again follow these steps check for viruses on your computer remove any newly installed hard drives or hard drive controllerd check your hard drive to make sure it is properly configured and terminated run CHDSK /F to check for hard drive corruption and then restart your computer
This happened after pulling out my hardrive out of my computer to reformat it because my cd rom drive doesnt work so i reformated it and every thing was good untill i pulled it out and put it back in mine and this poped out i took it out and started it on the other comp and it wrks there and not on mine
__________________

chapado is offline  
Old 11-24-2005, 12:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

When do you see this message, when trying to load the Drive on the other PC or when trying to boot off the XP disc and reformat it?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 12:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

That is such a cryptic message.I also just reformated my computer and also added a new hard drive last night.I kept getting that same error.Even halfway through the windows instalation I had to pull one of my memory modules out and then it would let me run the install.When
i was done installing and putting all the drivers on the system it let me put the memory chip back in and all is fine.But I dont know why just a wierd fluke...
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

as far as i can tell from what you said: you did more than a format in the second computer, you actually installed windows on the hdd in the second computer. if thats the case putting it back in the original comp will not work. your going to have to swap the cd-drive into the computer you want to install windows xp on. either that or copy all the install files to the hdd and execute them from a boot disk (not sure if this works with xp, i've only ever tried with 98).
Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.