I have a big dvd-rw drive problem. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2006, 06:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default I have a big dvd-rw drive problem.

For some reason whenever I try to take a dvd-rw and copy the information on it onto my hard drive it will like stop working about 5-10 seconds. Then it will say Error-Cycle Redundancy Check. What the heck is going on. I have never had this problem before. What did I do! The drive is brand new. Her is the drive im using.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827152058
__________________

Saint71 is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

It is either the CD/DVD disc itself is bad or the DVD drive has failed. Does it do that will all discs/ If it does you might want to go into the hardare profile under system and delete the secondary IDE channel and then reinstall. If you do that make sure you have your mobo driver cd ready. A cyclic redundnacy error is simply that the drive cannot read the data on the disc and can be ether the disc itself or the drive is fubared!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

i think its cuz its protected , try to get it done with dvdfab decrypter you just might get lucky http://www.dvdidle.com/free.htm
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 376
Send a message via AIM to Saint71
Default

I have used dvd-r disks that just have information I wrote to them and I have used regular movie disks. And there all messing up. I didnt have this problem when I got the drive. So I dont get why It woudl mess up all the sudden.
Saint71 is offline  
Old 03-20-2006, 08:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

your using nvidia ide drivers or the standard microsoft ones? ive heard the nvidia ones are pretty bad and cause various issues
jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.