I have 2 problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2009, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default I have 2 problems

Hi. I have a 22" Dell widescreen monitor running in 1680x1050 resolution. I also have
a 17" eMachines monitor running at 1440x900 resolution. Is there any way to get them to work together? The "Extend" button is grayed out.

If my computer specs will help, here they are:

1.6 ghz Intel Celeron Dual Core processor
2.5 GB PC2-6400 memory
256 MB ATI Radeon HD2600 PRO graphics card
Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit

I also have another problem... my graphics card's temperature. I read the reviews for my ATI Radeon HD2600 Pro and they said that it can hit 76 degrees celsius. Which it was when I was first concerned. However, lately after I cleaned it, when I play Oblivion OR EVEN Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic 2, the temperature hits 81-83 degrees celsius. I asked on Yahoo Answers and someone said not to worry until it hits 90 degrees. I don't want to believe that because it's hot as heck now. My old graphics card was a Nvidia GeForce 6800 XT in my older computer and it got to 62 degrees celsius with Oblivion on the highest settings. Also, when I exit the game, within 45 seconds the temperature goes from 81-83 degrees celsius back down to 67 degrees or so, then eventually idles at 61-63 degrees.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. )
__________________

adaeon is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 06:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I have 2 problems

On the temp issue, its quite possible you caused the crap you were cleaning to get lodged further in the card, and/or in the case, so its not cooling as well. 81C is warmer than it should be.

On the screen issue. Make sure you have the 17" selected, then try to click extend.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: I have 2 problems

Well I cleaned the card again to make sure, and it didn't make a difference. I also cleaned my case, and that didn't either (which I didnt think it would I just thought I'd be sure). It still is hitting 81C-83C and it has maxed at 85C on Crysis.

As for the dual monitors, when I clicked the image of the 17", it showed it was there, but did not display the name of the monitor, as if it was not connected. It showed that my main monitor was a dell. To be sure, I set the resolution to 1440x900 and plugged in my 17" as the main monitor. It recognized that as the main monitor and said it was an eMachines monitor. As for the secondary display, it was showing that the 22" was a second monitor, but yet again did not seem to recognize it. Does it need to be the same resolution setting...? Or is there some file/patch I can get to make this work...?
adaeon is offline  
Old 09-26-2009, 10:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: I have 2 problems

How to set up dual monitors

I have it posted in there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Right click on the desktop. Select Personalize. There once you get that screen up click the Display Settings. There you should see your 2 screens. Click on the 2nd one and there should be a check box that says "Extend my desktop to this screen" Click that box and you should see the 2nd screen kick on.
If it is going to work this is the setup on how to do it. If not you will most likely have to update your graphics drivers.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 12:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: I have 2 problems

Check the fan on your card's cooler. It may be dying on you.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 12:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: I have 2 problems

Thanks for the help. However, I did not know that Windows was not managing my dual displays since I had the Catalyst Control Center for my graphics card. I had to extend it through that program. It works great. I love the dual displays now!

On the card fan issue, it blows air better than my CPU cooler. My CPU usually hits about 135F though, which I can say I'm happy about.

Thanks for the help guys!
adaeon is offline  
Old 09-27-2009, 03:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: I have 2 problems

What case are you using?

When cleaning did you move cables that might be blocking airflow?

Youre right, 81 is abit high.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Many Problems With Comp Doorknob Microsoft Windows and Software 6 02-15-2009 08:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.